United Kingdom & Ireland » Ireland & Northern Ireland » General Resources

First Steps in Family History

From the Federation of Family History Societies. This online brochure provides answers to a new researcher's first questions about family history.

From Huddled Masses to the White House - Irish Immigration to America From the 1800s to the Present

From Ireland

An Irish genealogy website, created in Ireland, carrying information on genealogical resources, databases, indices and more. A page for each of the 32 counties.

Genealogy of the UK - Ireland Genealogy

A directory of UK online resources, including archives, libraries, directories, surname lists, parish registers, cemeteries, war memorials, electoral rolls and censuses.

GenealogyInTime Magazine - Ireland Genealogy Records

A handy guide to the most recent genealogy records on the internet organized by country and region.

Genealogylinks.net - UK Genealogy

GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy

Golden Pages Online

History On-line

Information resources for the teaching and learning of history. There are currently over 40,000 records providing details of books and articles, UK university lecturers, UK current and past research, and evaluated links to web sites and on-line resources. This information is freely available, and can be searched or browsed.

I Dream of Genealogy - Irish Heritage

A list of links to other sites.

Ireland Genealogy Project (IGP)

A volunteer project to preserve and protect Irish records for the future.

Ireland Genealogy Project Archives

The IGP Archives was created to help fill the need for free genealogical data about families originating in Ireland. We believe that much information is already in the hands of researchers and needs only to be shared so that others can discover more about their ancestors. If we pool our resources we will all be the richer for it. We are proud to be a part of Ireland Genealogy Projects (IGP). All counties in Ireland are included.

Ireland Genealogy Projects Archives - General Ireland & Foreign Records

Free genealogical data about families originating in Ireland.

Ireland Reaching Out

A volunteer-based, non-profit initiative which builds vibrant, lasting links between the global Irish Diaspora and parishes of origin in Ireland.

Ireland Roots

An information site to help find your Irish roots and uncover your ancestry including a list of Irish surnames and their origins from BARRET to WHITE, a message board and family trees.

Irish Ancestors

A comprehensive guide to Irish research. From John Grenham and the Irish Times on the Web

Irish Ancestors.net

Irish Ancestral Pages

[The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]

Irish Ancestry | Free Irish Ancestry

Discover your Irish family history and start your family tree. Find resources for many Irish genealogy records including census, land and cemetery records. This website is dedicated to making Irish ancestry research as free as possible.

Irish Archives Resource

A link portal that points to archival collections throughout the island of Ireland.