United States » U.S. Census » General Resources

Findmypast - Search - Census, Land & Substitutes $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Fold3 - The Interactive Census Project $

1860, 1900, 1910, 1920 and the 1930 US Census. Leave notations, use maps & timelines, add stories and photos.

Follow Your Family With Census Records ^FREE

A free 5-page how-to article from the Ancestry.com Learning Center.

Free Census Project (USGenWeb), Completed Transcriptions (Census Online Inventory Index)

Scanned images of census records.

Genealogy Research Guides - Free Online Census Records & Indexes - USA ^FREE

A list of census indexes at the state level or higher that can be searched for free.

Genealogy Research Guides - State Census Records

Information on some state census records and other censuses taken during non-federal census years. Includes links to some online indexes.

Genealogy Today - Census Records > Introduction to U.S. Census Research

Overviews of the data captured in each census along with access to the directory of available states.

HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online is not available to individual users. Instead, you can access the collection through many public libraries. Most often, you can use the collection from home by logging in through your library's web site. Check with your local library for details. The collection consists of six core data sets: U.S. Federal Censuses feature the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades. Genealogy and local history books deliver more than 7 million digitized page images from over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books. Periodical Source Index (PERSI) is recognized as the most comprehensive index genealogy and local history periodicals. It contains more than 2 million records covering titles published around the world since 1800. Revolutionary War records contains original images from pension and bounty land warrant application files help to identify more than 80,000 American Army, Navy, and Marine officers and enlisted men from the Revolutionary War era. Freedman

Historical Demographic, Economic, and Social Data for the United States, 1790-1960

Information on State Censuses

Listing of years by state in which state censuses were taken.

IPUMS Homepage

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-98), created at the University of Minnesota in October 1997. Census microdata for social and economic research. The IPUMS consists of twenty-five high-precision samples of the American population drawn from thirteen federal censuses.

Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000

PDF booklet from the U.S. Census Bureau. Details the instructions given to census enumerators for recording information in the census.

National Archives & Records Administration

National Archives Pieces of History - Census Records: The 72-Year Rule

Nevada State Historic Preservation Office

Encourages the preservation, documentation, and use of cultural resources through state and federal programs.

OHS Research Center | 1933 Relief Census

The Oklahoma Historical Society Research Center has transcribed information for more than 100,000 people from 27 counties in Oklahoma. This info is from the 1933 Unemployment Relief Census and includes the person's name, age, race, occupation, number of dependents, and whether or not they needed relief.

One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse

Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.

Open Genealogy Data

US Census transcription project to release the census databases into the public domain. Includes free census search.

Orphan's Home Website

Transcriptions of orphan, adoptee, and foster children listings in orphanages, homes, and poorhouses from U.S. and Canadian censuses.

Search Free Federal and State Census Mortality Schedules Online

Federal and State Census Mortality Schedules. We have many original transcriptions found no where else on the internet and links to all known transcribed Mortality Schedules.