United States » U.S. Census » General Resources

1930 Census :: FREE 1790-1930 Census Resources for Genealogy & Family History

Learn how to use census data for research and how it can compliment other record sources. Includes detail for online and offline census research.

1960 Census Myths and Facts--Explained

Debunks the urban myth that the computer tapes holding the 1960 census of the United States results have deteriorated beyond recovery. The tapes only contained tabulated aggregate data. The actual schedules were microfilmed and will be available in the year 2032.

Access Genealogy - Census Records

Census links for online census research.

African American Census Schedules Online (Internet Archive)

Ancestry.com - Census Records

Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Census Collection

Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com - U.S., Census Reconstructed Records, 1660-1820 $

Original source: Census Publishing. State Census Records. West Jordan, Utah: Census Publishing, 2003-2009. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com Support - Census Information by Decade ^FREE

CELEBRITY CENSUS - Celebrities Found in Historic Census Schedules

As our name implies, this site is dedicated to celebrity census records! Whether the person was born a celebrity or was an ancestor of someone who would later achieve noteriety, they're name is sitting on a census schedule somewhere

Census Online - Census Sites on the Web

Census Records

Transcribed US census records for various counties and states.

Census Records for Genealogy & Local History

Guide to the Federal and Wisconsin state censuses including dates, information recorded & availablity. From the McIntyre Library, University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire

Census.gov - United States Census Bureau

Census2Ged

Converts transcriptions made using the tool genscriber into detailed GEDCOM files that preserve nuclear family relationships.

CensusRecords.com - Search U.S. Census (Index & Images) $

A subscription-based service and also a PayAsYouGo option. From BrightSolid.

Cobblestone Creek

Links to free information for American genealogy through the U.S. census.

Content of Federal Decennial Censuses 1790-1920

Describes information recorded by each census.

DonsList Census Books

Free US Census Records with Name Search: 1790-1930** Lists of links with descriptors are provided to the complete US Census (1790-1930 on the Internet Archive and to the Soundex Index reels there for 1880, 1900. 1910-1930 expected to be completed by 7/2011.**Hosted on-site are complete census reels for 1790-1820 and for major cities 1900-1930 and for some states' Soundex index reels. These holdings are constantly expanding.

FamilySearch - Historical Record Collections ^FREE

FamilySearch Wiki - United States Census

U.S. Census types, accuracy, analyzing the data, history, indexes, searching, Soundex, substitutes, non-population schedules, and state-by-state links to online indexes and images.