Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form
-
Richmond, Virginia.
-
Archival Resources of the Virginias (formerly Virginia Heritage)
A consolidated database of finding aids that provides information about the vast array of manuscripts and archival materials housed in Virginia and West Virginia.
-
Provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries.
-
Documenting the American South
Sponsored by the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this is a a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
-
Earl Gregg Swem Library at the College of William and Mary
Williamsburg, Virginia.
-
The most comprehensive access to Manuscript Collections and University Archives collections in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC).
-
Special Collections Research Center
Manuscripts, University Archives, Rare Books and Periodicals, Burger Collection.
-
A university-wide effort to collect, preserve, and distribute digital material related to and produced by the university and its students, faculty, and staff.
-
-
Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History & Culture
Salisbury, Maryland.
-
FamilySearch - FamilySearch Center Locator: Virginia
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
-
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Microfilm loans can be ordered and then sent to your local Family History Center.
-
Norfolk, Virginia.
-
HKMI is a non-profit educational organization, dedicated to the preservation of the historical and cultural heritage of our early Germanic immigrants into the great valley of Virginia, through museum and living history exhibits and programs, archives and genealogies, for the members of the organization and the general public.
-
-
The Kegley Library is a special collection of local history and family history housed in the Wytheville Community College Library, Wytheville, Virginia. It is the result of a personal library that was bequeathed to WCC by noted historian Frederick Bittle Kegley in 1968. The original collection contained books, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, census records, manuscripts, WPA documents, journals, photographs, and maps. Since its inception the collection has grown considerably. Once housed in a small room off the main library in Bland Hall, the Kegley Library now resides in a reading room and vault room in the Smyth Hall main library. The collection now includes over 5,000 books, 150 manuscript collections, 8,000 photographs, 500 maps, 9 cabinets of vertical files, 19,000 tombstone inscriptions, and 140 subject albums. A comprehensive collection of local newspapers, court and census records on microfilm, and oral history collection also are housed here.
-
LibDex - The Library Index - Virginia
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
-
-
-
Bibliographies and descriptive research notes to print, newspaper, manuscript, and archival collections. Includes: African American and Native American resources; Biographical and Genealogical; Births, Deaths, Marriages (Vital Records); Business and Economics; County and City Research, including Virginia, West Virginia, and Kentucky; General Reference; Government Information and Legal Resources; Historic Virginia Government Records; Maps and Architecture; Military Service; Newspapers and Magazines; Tax Records; Virginia History and Culture; Virginia Land Office Patents and Grants; Women's History.
-
External resources to which the Library subscribes. Most provide access to recent and current newspapers, magazines, journals, and the like. Many of these tools, also arranged by topic, are accessible outside the Library with the use of a Library of Virginia or Virginia public library card.
-
-
Virginia Colonial Records Project
Online searchable index to nearly 15,000 reports that survey and describe documents relating to colonial Virginia history that are housed in repositories in Great Britain and other European countries. The survey report images are available online, and there are references to microfilm reels for the original documents.
-
Virginia Memory, Library of Virginia
Digital collections including photographs, maps, archival records, or art work.
-
Library of Virginia - Making History (Transcribe)
Help improve access to historic documents by transcribing handwritten pages and reviewing transcriptions from the collections of the Library of Virginia.
