United States » Texas » Libraries, Archives & Museums

Houston Public Library

LibDex - The Library Index - Texas

A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).

Library of Congress - Search results for Texas

Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum

National Archives and Records Administration

Northeast Texas Genealogical Library Resources

The distant researcher's guide to genealogical information at local libraries in the Northeast Texas area.

Online Schools - Libraries in Texas

With over 650 libraries in the state, Texas libraries house some of the best genealogy research materials including census records and military collections. Use this library locator tool to find the location, phone number, and web address for public and academic libraries in Texas.

Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum

Paso al Norte Museum

El Paso. Preserves the history of El Paso as the Ellis Island of the Southwest.

Portal to Texas History

The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections.

Public Libraries in the United States - Texas

A directory with detailed information for public libraries in each state.

PublicLibraries.com - Texas

Smith's Master Index to Maritime Museum Websites - Texas (Wayback Machine)

Sophienburg Museum & Archives

Dedicated to the preservation of the history of German settlement in New Braunfels and German genealogy in Texas and the West.

Stephen F. Austin State University - Ralph W. Steen Library :: Archives

Nacogdoches, Texas

Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)

TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public. The site consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections.

Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)

Collection descriptions or finding aids of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state of Texas.

Texas Baptist Historical Collection

Texas Digital Archive

The Texas Digital Archive (TDA) manages, preserves, and facilitates access to the electronic records collections of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, including those transferred by State agencies or digitized by the State Archives.

Texas Forestry Museum - Research

Extensive research by the Texas Forestry Museum led to the development of two electronic databases relating to the history of forestry in the state.