United States » South Carolina » Libraries, Archives & Museums

Dacus Library - Louise Pettus Archives & Special Collections

The Winthrop University Archives collects and preserves records relating to South Carolina history. Including records of families, individuals, organizations, and businesses that have contributed to the history of the Catawba region and personal papers of women and records of women

Digital State Archives - South Carolina

Diocese of Charleston Archives

Charleston, South Carolina. Holdings date from 1789 and continue to the present. The Archives include the papers of bishops, the administrative records of diocesan offices, chancery correspondence, and records of various agencies, religious orders, programs, and individuals reflecting the work and goals of the Church. In addition, we have the annual reports of parishes, parish histories, property records, deed and construction files, some architectural drawings, cemetery records, newspapers and photographs. Because individual parishes are required by Canon 535 to maintain their own archives, original registers containing sacramental records are not held in the Diocesan Archives. However, the archives often have microfilm copies of parish registers and these are available to search for sacramental records prior to 1930.

Documenting the American South

Sponsored by the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this is a a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

FamilySearch - FamilySearch Center Locator: South Carolina

From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.

FamilySearch Catalog

From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Microfilm loans can be ordered and then sent to your local Family History Center.

Furman University Libraries - Special Collections

S.C. Baptist Historical Collection contains records from over 500 South Carolina Baptist churches, a 5000-volume book collection, church histories, congregational records, association minutes, biographical materials, newsletters, hymnals, and sermons.

LibDex - The Library Index - South Carolina

A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).

Library of Congress - Search results for South Carolina

Lowcountry Digital Library

South Carolina. Digitizes and makes accessible unique local resources. Their mission is to consolidate the Lowcountry Digital Library to include a variety of materials from public and private archives, including but not limited to libraries, archives, and museums. The Lowcountry is defined in Wikipedia as (always) Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper counties; (usually) Charleston-North Charleston-Summerville metropolitan area, consisting of Berkeley, Charleston, and Dorchester counties; and (sometimes) Allendale, Georgetown, and Williamsburg counties.

National Archives and Records Administration

Presbyterian College Library

South Carolina.

Public Libraries in the United States - South Carolina

A directory with detailed information for public libraries in each state.

PublicLibraries.com - South Carolina

Smith's Master Index to Maritime Museum Websites - South Carolina (Wayback Machine)

South Carolina Department of Archives and History

South Carolina Department of Archives and History - Record and Image Search

330,000 online images, 375,000 names, 13,000 places, 17,000 topics.

South Carolina Digital Library

The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.

South Carolina State Library

South Carolina State Museum