United States » Oklahoma » Libraries, Archives & Museums

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, and Museums

  Dedicated to preserving and advancing the language, history, culture, and lifeways of indigenous peoples. Located in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

• Cherokee Heritage Center / Museum, Village, Theater, and Legal Archive of Cherokee Nation

  Tahlequah, Oklahoma. Cherokee National Historical Society, Inc.

  • Cherokee Family Research Center

    
Admission to the Cherokee Heritage Center includes access to the CFRC and genealogy library. The admission fee also gives the visitor access to the museum exhibits, the Trail of tears exhibit, a guided tour of the Ancient Cherokee Village and a self-guided tour of Adams Corner Rural Village and Nofire Farms. 
You are welcome to visit the Cherokee Family Research Center to utilize our library for your research. The library hours are Tuesday through Saturday, 9 am to 5 pm.

• Conoco Museum

  This world-class facility celebrates the success of Conoco, which was built not by just one person, but by thousands of employees bonded by old-fashioned practicality and sheer determination. It is their stories that create the heritage that truly is the spirit of Conoco. Located in Ponca City, Oklahoma.

• Digital State Archives - Oklahoma

  Oklahoma is indeed OK when it comes to online family history records. Their state archives, while not huge, have some intriguing online records of great use to genealogy research. These include Oklahoma Territory military records, Dawes Rolls of Indian census records, and marriage and obituary vital records.

• Documenting the American South

  Sponsored by the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this is a a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

• FamilySearch - FamilySearch Center Locator: Oklahoma

  From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.

• FamilySearch Catalog

  From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Microfilm loans can be ordered and then sent to your local Family History Center.

  • Oklahoma

• LibDex - The Library Index - Oklahoma

  A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).

• Library of Congress - Search results for Oklahoma

• National Archives and Records Administration

  • National Archives at Fort Worth

    Records for Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas.

    • Guide to Archival Holdings at the National Archives at Fort Worth

  • Request and Order Reproductions

  • Resources for Genealogists

• National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum

  Founded in 1955, the Museum, located in Oklahoma City, collects, preserves, and exhibits an internationally renowned collection of Western art and artifacts while sponsoring dynamic educational programs to stimulate interest in the enduring legacy of the American West. The National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum features a superb collection of classic and contemporary Western art, including works by Frederic Remington and Charles M. Russell, as well as sculptor James Earle Fraser

• Oklahoma Department of Libraries

  • Archives and Records

    • Genealogy Materials

  • Find Your Public Library

  • Oklahoma Public and Institutional Libraries Directory

  • Records Management Division

• Oklahoma Digital Prairie

  The Oklahoma Digital Prairie is a service of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries and other Oklahoma state agencies with which it partners. Included in Digital Prairie services are repositories of state government information, research databases and special online topical exhibits. The Collections component of Oklahoma Digital Prairie consists of online exhibits and information repositories. Collections encompass an array of documents, publications, forms, photographs, newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters, maps, and an Oklahoma author database.

• Oklahoma Historical Society

  • Research Center

• Oklahoma State University Library

  • Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA)

• Public Libraries in the United States - Oklahoma

  A directory with detailed information for public libraries in each state.

• PublicLibraries.com - Oklahoma

• Smith's Master Index to Maritime Museum Websites - Oklahoma (Wayback Machine)

• Talbot Library & Museum

  Colcord, Oklahoma. Research library specializing in Northeast Oklahoma, Northwest Arkansas, and Cherokee Territory genealogy research & history.

• The Gateway to Oklahoma History

  The Gateway is an online repository of Oklahoma history, brought to you by the Oklahoma Historical Society. Visitors can search and view historic thousands of newspapers, photographs, maps, and documents.