United States » Ohio » People: Ethnicities, Nations, and Families

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• African-American Ohio Name Index to 1850

  This index includes 836 entries taken from Ohio publications through 1850 including city directories. Each entry includes name, address, city, gender and occupation with book and page citation for researchers.

• African-Americans in Southeastern Ohio

• American Antiquarian Society - Ohio Name Index, 1796-1850

  This index includes 156,300 names of Ohio people, businesses and institutions. The names appear in the books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in Ohio from 1796 through 1850 which are listed in the Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850. To date, the titles indexed are primarily school catalogues (over 37,000 student names), city directories, annual conventions, and many other individual titles.

• Biographical Sketch Name Index

  Part of the Genealogy Index at the Western Reserve Historical Society, twenty-eight publications containing 26,720 articles in which biographical information about Clevelanders has been published between 1886 and 1998.

• Countdown to Millennium - An Oral History Collection Project

  Oral history stories of residents from southeastern Ohio.

• FamilySearch Wiki - Ohio Adoption Research

• GEDCOM Index - Ohio

  Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.

• Hearts of Adoption

  Chillicothe, Ohio. Adoption searches for biological family members and genealogical support and assistance in locating your missing loved ones.

• Memorial to the pioneer women of the Western Reserve

  Digitized copy of the book edited by Gertrude Van Rensselaer Wickham (Wickham, 1896).

• Miami University Libraries Digital Collections - Miami Stories Oral History Collection

  Videos of current and former Miami University (Oxford, Ohio) students and faculty speaking about their life and experiences. Primarily filmed 2006-2009.

• Ohio Biographies

  Biographies, images, pictures and biography information on famous artists, authors, presidents, actors and more in Ohio.

• Ohio Female Index to 1850 - Ohio Name Index Project

  This index includes 13,686 entries taken from Ohio publications through 1850 including city directories, school catalogues, etc. Each entry includes name, address, city, race and occupation with book and page citation for researchers.

• Ohio History Connection - African Americans

• Online County and Town Histories - Ohio

  This site provides over 3,000 links to free county and town histories published from 1850 to the early 1920s. These histories often contain detailed biographies of their citizens.

• Our Family Tree - Ohio Genealogy

  Collection of family trees and resources for the state of Ohio: Cherrington, Ashcraft, Northway, Waldo, Moore, Buckley, Swope, Jacobs, Longshore, Gorby

• The Miami Indians - A Research Aid & Selected Bibliography

  This selected bibliography was developed to help the student and scholar find resources in the Miami University Libraries related to the Miami Indians.

• The Scotch-Irish in Ohio

  An historic account of the Influence of the Ulster and Scottish settlers in Ohio, taken from the Proceedings of the Scotch-Irish Congress, in Pittsburgh, PA., 1890.

• Tribes and Villages of Ohio

• Wyandot History: A Guide to Original Sources and Current Scholarship

  A non-commercial educational site dedicated to providing access to digital copies of original source materials--journals, diaries, ledger books, correspondence, postal history, census records, legal documents, treaties, maps, photographs, drawings and material culture--associated with the Wyandot Nation. While the emphasis is presently on the nineteenth century Wyandot experience in Michigan, Ohio and Kansas, once fully functional the site will expand to include both earlier and later materials of this Iroquoian First Nation of the Great Lakes region.