United States » New Jersey » General Resources

Access Genealogy - New Jersey Genealogy

American Local History Network - New Jersey

Ancestors: Resource Guide - New Jersey

Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.

Ancestry.com - New Jersey Genealogy & New Jersey Family History Resources

Ancestry.com Wiki - New Jersey Family History Research ^FREE

The Ancestry.com Wiki includes helpful content from two classic genealogical publications--The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy, and the Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources.

Cultural Resources Survey – Morris County, NJ

Morris County Veterans' Histories, historic documents, and other projects.

Family Tree Connection - New Jersey Resources

Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.

FamilySearch - Location Research - New Jersey ^FREE

FamilySearch brought together tools to help you with your research in this state: indexed historical records, image-only historical records, and links to the FHL catalog and the FamilySearch Wiki.

FamilySearch - New Jersey Research Page ^FREE

Resources all on one-page for research in this state including links to the FamilySearch Wiki, the Learning Center, the Family History Library Catalog, and the Historical Records Collection.

Findmypast - Search All Record Sets - New Jersey $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Fold3 - New Jersey Records $

Fold3 is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. The focus of Fold3 is to be a comprehensive collection of U.S. Military records. Some areas of Fold3 are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.

Genealogical Repositories in the New York Metropolitan Area

JGS has prepared a comprehensive list of repositories and resources in the metropolitan New York region. The lists include addresses and contact information to more than 100 significant research resources in New York City, New York State, and New Jersey.

Genealogy Buff - Library - New Jersey Data

Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.

Genealogy Inc. - New Jersey Genealogy, Facts and Records Resources

Genealogy Quest - Free Genealogical Records for New Jersey

Genealogy Trails History Group - New Jersey Genealogy Trails

Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.

GenealogyBank.com - New Jersey $

GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 13,000+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.

Internet Archive : Genealogy : Free Texts - New Jersey

The Archive's ever-expanding collection of genealogy resources includes items from the Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center in Fort Wayne, Indiana; Robarts Library at the University of Toronto; the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library; Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah; the National Library of Scotland; the Indianapolis City Library's Indianapolis City Directory and Yearbooks Collection; The Leo Baeck Institute Archives of German-speaking Jewry Leo Baeck Institute Archives; and the Boston Public Library. Resources include among many things books on surname origins, vital statistics, parish records, census records, passenger lists of vessels, and other historical and biographical documents.

jerseyrootsgenealogy - A Garden State Journey in Genealogy

Jersey Roots Genealogy will be sharing NJ genealogical tidbits, information and research findings to help others with their family history research.

LDS Genealogy - New Jersey Genealogy

Directory of 9,000 New Jersey genealogy record sources including births, marriage, deaths, census, cemeteries, newspapers and obituaries, city directories, church, immigration, probate, land, military, and historical records.