United States » New Jersey » Census

Access Genealogy - New Jersey Census Records

Census links for online census research.

Ancestry.com - New Jersey, U.S., Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1643-1890 $

Original source: Jackson, Ronald V., Accelerated Indexing Systems, comp.. New Jersey Census, 1643-1890. Compiled and digitized by Mr. Jackson and AIS from microfilmed schedules of the U.S. Federal Decennial Census, territorial/state censuses, and/or census substitutes. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com - Search Census and Voter Lists

US, UK, and Canadian census records. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Census Collection

Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription.

Ancestry.com Wiki - Census Records for New Jersey

This entry was originally written by Roger D. Joslyn, CG, FUGA, FGBS, FASG for Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. This wiki is a free service of Ancestry.com.

Archives.com - Search For New Jersey Census Records $

Use Archives.com with a FREE 7-day membership and search over 2.1 billion records. Pay-for-use after the seven day free trial.

Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - New Jersey

Census Project (USGenWeb) - New Jersey

This site lists where volunteers are needed for transcription. The state pages give both links where there are censuses that need to be transcribed and links to completed transcriptions.

FamilySearch - New Jersey, State Census, 1885 ^FREE

Name index of the New Jersey state census taken in 1885. Microfilm copies of original records are available at the Family History Library and family history centers.

FamilySearch - New Jersey, State Census, 1905 ^FREE

Name index of the 1905 Census of New Jersey which includes all residents in all counties.

FamilySearch - United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850 ^FREE

Name index and images of mortality schedules listing inhabitants of the United States who died between June 1849 and May 1850. This was the first time a mortality schedule was included with the general population census schedule. Searchable data and browse are available for the following: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Mortality schedules are not available at all for other states.

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1830 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1840 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1840

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1850 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1860 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1870 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1880 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1890 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1900 ^FREE