United States » Michigan » People: Ethnicities, Nations, and Families

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• Ancestry.com - Michigan Biographical Sketches, 1870-1900

  Searchable database available by subscription.

• Ancestry.com - Michigan Native Americans History, 1887

  Searchable database available by subscription.

• Central Adoption Registry - Michigan

  Information maintained by the Department of Human Services in Lansing. Contains former parent & adult former sibling statements giving consent or denial to have information about themselves released to an adult adopted person who is searching.

• GEDCOM Index - Michigan

  Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.

• Index of African-American Articles at G.R.P.L.

  The information was abstracted from the local Grand Rapids Newspapers and other Michigan newspapers by Professor Carl Bajema, placed in the Local History Department of the Grand Rapids Public Library - Main Branch. These records cover a time period from 1830 - 1935.

• Library of Michigan - Early Michigan Diaries and Autobiographies

• Michigan Biographical Index

  Cumulative full-name index merging many Michigan publications and manuscripts, including: cemetery transcripts, county histories, first land owners, military records, naturalization records, plat maps, portrait and biographical albums, probate records, tax lists and vital records.

• Michigan Polish Heritage

  Information on Michigan and Polish heritage and Polonica Americana Research Institute (PARI), a department of The Polish Mission.

• Michigan Polonia - Polish Genealogy and Family History

  Dr. Hal Learman and Ceil Wendt Jensen, are professional genealogists, who present practical examples and suggestions on how to use records, databases, and archives to start or advance your genealogy research. Common research questions are answered and suggestions are offered to help novice and advanced researchers find ancestors in North America and Poland. The site has databases, gazetteers, links, and other resources.

• Native American Research in Michigan

  Using the Ottawa, Chippewa and Potawatomi tribes as examples.
  [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]

• Negro Settlers of Michigan

  Original Negro settlers of Montcalm, Isabella, and Mecosta - Central Michigan.

• Online County and Town Histories - Michigan

  This site provides over 3,000 links to free county and town histories published from 1850 to the early 1920s. These histories often contain detailed biographies of their citizens.

• Ottawa and Chippewas of Michigan

  1870 Census, 1908 Durant Roll and the 1910 Durant Supplemental Roll.

• Our Family Tree - Michigan Genealogy

  Collection of family trees and resources for the state of Michigan: Waldo, Northway, Gridley, Henne, Gilbert, Bailey, Comstock, St Onge, French, Cosselman

• People of the Three Fires Native Genealogy

  Native American Genealogy in Michigan People of the 3 fires the Chippewa (Ojibwe), the Ottawa and the Potawatomi.

• The Making of Modern Michigan

  The Making of Modern Michigan is a collaborative project involving 52 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through over 4,500 different subjects of photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.

• Tribes and Villages of Michigan

• U.S. Biographies Project - Michigan

• Western Michigan Genealogical Society Online Searchable Databases

  West Michigan Newspapers, Kent County School Census, Michigana, Veterans, World War One Veterans Census, WMGS Manuscripts, WMGS Members' Genealogy, Black Monument Company, Farm Bureau News, Michigan Census, Kent County Deaths, Kent County Marriages, Latzek Funeral Home, Chapman's 1881 History of Kent County, Goss' History of Grand Rapids and its Industries, Quigley, Western Michigan Surnames and Queries, WMGS Internet Links.

• Wyandot History: A Guide to Original Sources and Current Scholarship

  A non-commercial educational site dedicated to providing access to digital copies of original source materials--journals, diaries, ledger books, correspondence, postal history, census records, legal documents, treaties, maps, photographs, drawings and material culture--associated with the Wyandot Nation. While the emphasis is presently on the nineteenth century Wyandot experience in Michigan, Ohio and Kansas, once fully functional the site will expand to include both earlier and later materials of this Iroquoian First Nation of the Great Lakes region.