United States » Massachusetts » Libraries, Archives & Museums

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• American Ancestors

  Web site of the New England Historic Genealogical Society, Boston, Massachusetts.

  • Library Catalog

  • NEHGS Library and Special Collections

• American Antiquarian Society

  Worcester.

  • Collections

  • Genealogy

  • Online Exhibitions

  • Online Finding Aids

• Andover Newton Theological School

  • Trask Library - Merrill Department of Rare Books and Special Collections

    Collections include records of 26 New England state and regional Baptist and Congregational organizations as well as records of 48 Baptist and Congregational churches. Repository for archives of The American Baptist Churches of Massachusetts (TABCOM) and for the records of all disbanded American Baptist churches in the state

• Archives - Archdiocese of Boston

  Includes parish registers, sacremental records, and cemetery records.

  • Researcher Resources

• Armenian Library and Museum of America

  Watertown.

• Boston College University Libraries

  Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts.

  • Collections

  • Digital Collections

• Boston Public Library

  • Research Services

    • Genealogy -- Searching Family Histories

    • Genealogy and Family History Resources

    • Microtext Department

    • Newspaper Room

      • Boston Newspapers in Microfilm

    • Obituary Database

      Online searchable index of obituaries appearing in the Boston Globe and the Boston Herald from 1971-1974 & 1990-1997.

    • Rare Books & Manuscripts

    • Special Collections

• Congregational Library & Archives

  The Congregational Library holds some 225,000 items, both archival and published, covering Congregational Christian history and a broad array of related topics. Located in Boston, Massachusetts.

• Congregational Library & Archives - Digital Collections

  New England's Hidden Histories, a collection of rare colonial-era church records, is the Congregational Library's most important initiative, serving scholars and genealogists as well as local Congregational churches interested in preserving their past. The Library is also building a large and diverse collection of images

• Digital Commonwealth - Massachusetts Collections Online

• Digital Commonwealth - Massachusetts Collections Online

  A web portal and fee-based repository service for online cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.

• Digital State Archives - Massachusetts

• FamilySearch - FamilySearch Center Locator: Massachusetts

  From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.

• FamilySearch Catalog

  From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Microfilm loans can be ordered and then sent to your local Family History Center.

  • Massachusetts

• Harvard Libraries

  Cambridge, Massachusetts.

  • A Selection of Web-Accessible Collections at Harvard University

  • Archives and Special Collections

  • Finding Materials at Harvard

  • Harvard Libraries by Subject: A Selective List

• Healy Library at the University of Massachusetts Boston

  • Archival & Manuscript Collections

• John F. Kennedy Library Home Page

• LibDex - The Library Index - Massachusetts

  A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).

• Library of Congress - Search results for Massachusetts

• Massachusetts Archives

  • Collections

  • Massachusetts Archives Collection Database (1629-1799)

    Online searchable descriptive index & catalog for documents of eighteen volumes of the Massachusetts Archives Collection dating from 1629-1799 & covering a variety of topics.

  • Researching Your Family's History at the Massachusetts Archives

  • Sources for Black Genealogy and History