United States » Illinois » General Resources

Access Genealogy - Illinois Genealogy

American Local History Network - Illinois

Ancestors: Resource Guide - Illinois

Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.

Ancestry.com - Illinois Genealogy & Illinois Family History Resources

Ancestry.com Wiki - Illinois Family History Research ^FREE

The Ancestry.com Wiki includes helpful content from two classic genealogical publications--The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy, and the Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources.

Century Past - The Great Lakes States Past & Present – Online Library of Free Books & Articles

FamilySearch - Illinois Research Page ^FREE

Resources all on one-page for research in this state including links to the FamilySearch Wiki, the Learning Center, the Family History Library Catalog, and the Historical Records Collection.

FamilySearch - Location Research - Illinois ^FREE

FamilySearch brought together tools to help you with your research in this state: indexed historical records, image-only historical records, and links to the FHL catalog and the FamilySearch Wiki.

Findmypast - Search All Record Sets - Illinois $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Fold3 - Illinois Records $

Fold3 is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. The focus of Fold3 is to be a comprehensive collection of U.S. Military records. Some areas of Fold3 are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.

Genealogy and Family History Research in Illinois

Genealogy Buff - Library - Illinois Data

Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.

Genealogy Inc. - Illinois Genealogy, Facts and Records Resources

Genealogy Quest - Free Genealogical Records for Illinois

Genealogy Trails - Illinois Genealogy Trails

Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.

GenealogyBank.com - Illinois $

GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 13,000+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.

Illinois Ancestors

Illinois Ancestors provides free data for the west central region of Illinois plus state-wide data for cemeteries, veterans burials, Swedish ancestors and much more to come.

Illinois Family History Research: Place Names of the Northeast 25 Counties

The detail of every town and township (former name, present name, township, date of incorporation, elevation, railroads, Post Office dates of operation, present mailing address, 1990 population) known to have existed is listed alphabetically by county, and all sources are cited. Please keep in mind it was typical to have several towns by the same common name scattered across the state, so if you are looking for 19th century towns on a 21st century map you are creating your own brick walls.

Illinois Trails History and Genealogy

Illinois Trails is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing free, online access to historical and genealogical records.

Internet Archive : Genealogy : Free Texts - Illinois

The Archive's ever-expanding collection of genealogy resources includes items from the Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center in Fort Wayne, Indiana; Robarts Library at the University of Toronto; the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library; Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah; the National Library of Scotland; the Indianapolis City Library's Indianapolis City Directory and Yearbooks Collection; The Leo Baeck Institute Archives of German-speaking Jewry Leo Baeck Institute Archives; and the Boston Public Library. Resources include among many things books on surname origins, vital statistics, parish records, census records, passenger lists of vessels, and other historical and biographical documents.