Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form
-
Ancestors: Resource Guide - Iowa
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com Wiki - Iowa Family History Research
FREE
The Ancestry.com Wiki includes helpful content from two classic genealogical publications--The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy, and the Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources.
-
Family Tree Connection - Iowa Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
-
FamilySearch - Iowa Research Page
FREE
Resources all on one-page for research in this state including links to the FamilySearch Wiki, the Learning Center, the Family History Library Catalog, and the Historical Records Collection.
-
FamilySearch - Location Research - Iowa
FREE
FamilySearch brought together tools to help you with your research in this state: indexed historical records, image-only historical records, and links to the FHL catalog and the FamilySearch Wiki.
-
Findmypast - Search All Record Sets - Iowa
$
Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Fold3 is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. The focus of Fold3 is to be a comprehensive collection of U.S. Military records. Some areas of Fold3 are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
-
Genealogy Buff - Library - Iowa Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy Trails History Group - Iowa Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
-
GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 13,000+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Internet Archive : Genealogy : Free Texts - Iowa
The Archive's ever-expanding collection of genealogy resources includes items from the Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center in Fort Wayne, Indiana; Robarts Library at the University of Toronto; the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library; Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah; the National Library of Scotland; the Indianapolis City Library's Indianapolis City Directory and Yearbooks Collection; The Leo Baeck Institute Archives of German-speaking Jewry Leo Baeck Institute Archives; and the Boston Public Library. Resources include among many things books on surname origins, vital statistics, parish records, census records, passenger lists of vessels, and other historical and biographical documents.
-
Iowa DNA Project (FamilyTreeDNA)
This is a Geographic Project that welcomes all of those with a connection to the State of Iowa. This project facilitates connecting DNA cousins to surnames (or variants) in our family tree database using historical records and other facts. The Iowa DNA Project focuses primarily on Family Finder test results to connect known and prospective DNA cousins, and their collateral lineages. Testing yDNA and mtDNA is also encouraged. If you would like to join, you must have, or be willing to, test to at least Family Finder level with Family Tree DNA, or have transferred your results from another testing organization to Family Tree DNA.
-
Genealogy of Mahaska, Keokuk and Wapello Counties of Iowa and Mitchel SCHWARTZ.
-
LDS Genealogy - Iowa Genealogy
Directory of 21,000 Iowa genealogy record sources including births, marriage, deaths, census, cemeteries, newspapers and obituaries, city directories, church, immigration, probate, land, military, and historical records.
-
Library of Congress - Iowa: State Resource Guide
This guide provides access to digital materials related to the state at the Library of Congress, as well as links to external websites and a selected print bibliography.
