Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form
-
1838 Van Buren County Census (Iowa)
This is on four pages (2 images) total.
-
1847 Van Buren County Census (Iowa)
This is on 18 pages (9 images) total.
-
Access Genealogy - Iowa Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Census and Voter Lists
US, UK, and Canadian census records. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
-
AIS indexes. Original source: Jordan Dodd and Liahona Research, comp.. Iowa Census, 1838-70 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 1999. Original data: Compiled and digitized by Mr. Jackson and AIS from microfilmed schedules of the U.S. Federal Decennial Census, territorial/state censuses, and/or census substitutes.
-
Iowa State Census Collection, 1836-1925
Original source: Microfilm of Iowa State Censuses, 1856, 1885, 1895, 1905, 1915, 1925 as well various special censuses from 1836-1897 obtained from the State Historical Society of Iowa via Heritage Quest.
-
Ancestry.com - Selected U.S. Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880
$
This database contains U.S. federal non-population schedules from 1850-1880 for the following states: Alabama, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington Territory. Non-population schedules contained in this database include agriculture, industry/manufacturers, social statistics, and supplemental schedules. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Census Collection
Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S., Selected Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880
$
Original source: U.S. Census Non-population Schedules, including Agriculture Schedules, Industry/Manufacturers Schedules, Social Statistics and Supplemental Schedules for Alabama, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington Territory. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
-
Ancestry.com Wiki - Census Records for Iowa
This entry was originally written by Carol L. Maki and Michael John Neill for Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. This wiki is a free service of Ancestry.com.
-
Archives.com - Search For Iowa Census Records
$
Use Archives.com with a FREE 7-day membership and search over 2.1 billion records. Pay-for-use after the seven day free trial.
-
Census Project (USGenWeb) - Iowa
This site lists where volunteers are needed for transcription. The state pages give both links where there are censuses that need to be transcribed and links to completed transcriptions.
-
FamilySearch - Iowa Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880
FREE
Name index and images of mortality schedules from Iowa,1850-1880. Mortality Schedules were created in conjunction with the US Federal Census and list people who died in the year preceding the census. Mortality schedules were first included in the 1850 census. These include lists of people who died Jun 1849 - May 1850, Jun 1859 - May 1860, Jun 1869-May 1870, and Jun 1879 - May 1880.
-
FamilySearch - Iowa Non-Population Census Schedules, 1850-1880
FREE
Original source: Digital images of non-population census schedules for Iowa compiled by the United States Bureau of Census. These records are included in the National Archives and Records Administration microfilm publication T1156.
-
FamilySearch - Iowa State Census, 1885
FREE
Name index of the Iowa state census taken in 1885. The population schedule names every person in the household.
-
FamilySearch - Iowa State Census, 1895
FREE
Name index of the Iowa state census taken in 1895. The census names everyone in the household.
-
FamilySearch - Iowa State Census, 1915
FREE
Index and images of the Iowa 1915 state census.
-
FamilySearch - Iowa, State Census, 1905
FREE
Name index of the Iowa state census taken in 1905. The population schedule names every person in the household.
-
FamilySearch - Iowa, State Census, 1925
FREE
Index and images of the 1925 state census of Iowa.
-
FamilySearch - United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850
FREE
Name index and images of mortality schedules listing inhabitants of the United States who died between June 1849 and May 1850. This was the first time a mortality schedule was included with the general population census schedule. Searchable data and browse are available for the following: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Mortality schedules are not available at all for other states.
