United Kingdom & Ireland » Wales / Cymru » General Resources

Parishmouse - Wales Family History Guide

Parishmouse provides a wealth of information about the history of parishes, towns and hamlets throughout the United Kingdom, transcribed from historical books and parish registers. The information will be of particular interest to those tracing their family histories or researching local history. In addition to parish history there is also a growing collection of historical and modern day photos of the parishes. The information is organised by country, then county and parish. Each county page has an index of articles for places within that county.

Sources for Research in Welsh Genealogy

Bibliography from the Library of Congress.

South & West Wales Genealogical Index

South Wales UK Genealogy Sites

Surname Studies (formerly Modern British Surnames)

Surname Studies is devoted to the resources available for the study of the distribution, incidence and statistical analysis of the surnames of Britain, mainly post-1837, and primarily as a mass phenomenon.

TheGenealogist $

Dedicated to helping you find British your roots. The Genealogist is all about family history research and discovering your ancestors using a wide variety of data from 1100 through to the present day. Covering birth, marriage and death records, census records, parish records, nonconformist records, will records, military records and more.

Tracing your English and Welsh Ancestors

Beginners guide to sources of information on English and Welsh ancestors with an extensive set of associated links.

UK Genealogy Web

Genealogical sources of information for the United Kingdom, including England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Wales on the Web/Cymru ar y We

Biligual gateway to Welsh material on the World Wide Web.

Welsh Ancestry | Free Welsh Ancestry

Discover your Welsh family history and start your family tree. Try these free resources and access genealogy records including Census, Land and Cemetery records.

Welsh Family History Archive

Includes Welsh surname list, maps, images, sound files, gazetteer, and lots more.

WorldGenWeb Project