United Kingdom & Ireland » Scotland » Libraries, Archives & Museums

Newberry Library - Scottish Genealogy

Nova Scotia Highland Village

Iona, Nova Scotia, Canada. Living history museum for the Gaelic experience in Nova Scotia.

Project EARL - Connecting Public Libraries to the Network

Registers of Scotland Executive Agency

Guide to Land, Sasine, Personal and Other Registers.

RLUK - Research Libraries UK

RLUK is a consortium of the most significant research libraries in the UK and Ireland, and whose purpose is to shape the research library agenda, and contribute to the wider knowledge economy through innovative projects and services that add value and impact to the process of research. We also contribute to the health of society through the preservation and sharing of knowledge: one of the pillars of an open society.

Royal Bank of Scotland - Our Heritage

Royal College of Nursing (Scotland) - Historical Nursing Archives

Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh - History & Library

Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland

Includes CANMORE, which allows you on-line access to the database of the National Monuments Record of Scotland (NMRS). The database contains details of many thousands of archaeological sites, monuments, buildings and maritime sites in Scotland together with an index to the drawings, manuscripts and photographs in the Collections of the NMRS.

SCONE: Scottish Collections Network Extension

Enhancing existing online assistance to help researchers identify relevant collections, the project will also aim to provide online information and other facilities to assist library staff in jointly managing collaborative collection management processes in order to get the best out of limited national resources.

ScotlandsPeople - The official Scottish genealogy resource $

A fully searchable pay-per-view website which gives access to birth, marriage and death records (Statutory Registers, Old Parish Registers, and Catholic Registers); census records from 1841 to 1911, Valuation Rolls, and Scottish wills and testaments from 1513 to 1925. The initial surname search is free and covers all records, allowing you to check how many records of a particular surname appear in the various datasets, before you commit to payment and purchase credits toward viewing the digitized images of the records. This is the official government source of genealogical data for Scotland: a partnership between the National Records of Scotland (a merger of the General Register Office for Scotland and the National Archives of Scotland) and the Court of the Lord Lyon.

Scottish Archive Network

A three year project funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund and the Genealogical Society of Utah to link the catalogs of over 50 participating Archives in Scotland to the Internet.

Scottish Borders Archive and Local History Centre

Selkirk.

Scottish Catholic Archives

Scottish Catholic Archives

Scottish Libraries & Archives

Scottish Maritime Museum

Scottish Reference Information

An extensive list of parish numbers and microfilm numbers to aid in doing Scottish research at an LDS Family History Center.

Scottish Theatre Archive

SCRAN

Searchable online resource base of one million text and multimedia records relating to Scottish culture, history and science.