United Kingdom & Ireland » Scotland » General Resources

Scottish Ancestry

Discover your Scottish family history and start your family tree. Try these free resources and access genealogy records including census, land and cemetery records.

Scottish Families

Scottish Families has been created to allow anyone to compile their family tree online for free. The only requirement is that your ancestors have a direct connection to Scotland.

Scottish Families and History

Links to Scottish genealogy, Scottish families, Scottish history, Scottish census, Scottish surnames.

Scottish Family Heritage

Family and local history sources from original documents and other sources concentrating on Scotland, dating from 16th century.

Scottish Indexes

Scottish Indexes have indexed Scottish birth, marriage and death records (including Quaker births 1647-1874 and Quaker marriages 1656-1875). These BMDs are usually records that are not available on scotlandspeople.gov.uk. Scottish Indexes are also indexing paternity cases found in the Scottish Sheriff Courts as well as indexing prison registers and historic mental health records. Record sets include: Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Lists; 1841, 1851 and 1861 Census; Mental Health Records; Scotland's Criminal Database; Court of Session Index; Scottish Paternity Index; Poor Relief Records Index; Non-OPR Births/Baptisms, Banns/Marriages and Deaths/Burials; Kelso Dispensary Patient Records; Deeds Index; and Register of Sasines.

Sources for Research in Scottish Genealogy

Bibliography from the Library of Congress.

Storytelling Walking Tours of Oban and Kilmartin Glen

A traditional scottish storyteller offers story-tours in Scotland specifically for those who are interested in their Scottish ancestors. He also works with Ar-Turas, an Edinburgh based professional genealogist service.

Surname Studies (formerly Modern British Surnames)

Surname Studies is devoted to the resources available for the study of the distribution, incidence and statistical analysis of the surnames of Britain, mainly post-1837, and primarily as a mass phenomenon.

Talking Scot

A meeting place for people with an interest in Scottish genealogy, history and culture. Includes a forum, gallery to share images and documents, and links for Scottish research.

TalkingScot

A discussion group on all things Scottish concentrating on genealogy and local history, with many links to useful resources, family history societies, and info on censuses.

The Internet Guide to Scotland

The Scottish Genealogy Blog

A web blog for Scottish Genealogy information.

The Scottish Page

Devoted to the research of Scottish ancestry, especially that of Dumfries-Galloway.

TheGenealogist $

Dedicated to helping you find British your roots. The Genealogist is all about family history research and discovering your ancestors using a wide variety of data from 1100 through to the present day. Covering birth, marriage and death records, census records, parish records, nonconformist records, will records, military records and more.

UK Genealogy Web

Genealogical sources of information for the United Kingdom, including England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

WorldGenWeb Project

Your Scottish Ancestors Traced

An introduction to the available records and sources of information for researching family history and ancestry in Scotland, and in particular, records for Inveresk and Musselburgh, Duddingston, Liberton and Newton in Midlothian.