United Kingdom & Ireland » Scotland » General Resources

AllEnglishRecords.com

Search for United Kingdom (England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales) genealogy records. Includes links to census, court records, civil registration, church records, passenger lists and death records.

Ancestry.com - Scotland Genealogy & Scotland Family History Resources

Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

BBC - Scottish Roots

Introduction to searching for your family history in Scotland.

Cemetery Visitors to be Escorted

News article from Edinburgh, Scotland.

Drew's Scottish Genealogy & Ancestor Search Links

FamilySearch - Scotland Research Page

Resources all on one-page for research in this state including links to the FamilySearch Wiki, the Learning Center, the Family History Library Catalog, and the Historical Records Collection.

FamilySearch Wiki - Scotland Genealogy

Findmypast - Search All Record Sets - Scotland $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

First Steps in Family History

From the Federation of Family History Societies. This online brochure provides answers to a new researcher's first questions about family history.

FREE Scottish family tree inscriptions and links from HappyHaggis

HappyHaggis is a Scotland-only web-site designed to help you trace your Scottish family tree and family history. Hundreds of links, tips and pages unique to HappyHaggis. The site also includes a pay-for-use database with over 19,500 birth, marriage, death notices and death-related newspaper articles covering four years from 1850 to 1854.

Genealogy of the UK - Scotland Genealogy

A directory of UK online resources, including archives, libraries, directories, surname lists, parish registers, cemeteries, war memorials, electoral rolls and censuses.

Genealogy, Clans and Highland Storytelling Tours

Oral history of Clans of Scotland's West Coast as told by a Traditional Highland Storyteller through Story-Tours and CDs.

GenealogyInTime Magazine - Scotland Genealogy Records

A handy guide to the most recent genealogy records on the internet organized by country and region.

Genealogylinks.net - UK Genealogy

GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy

Living DNA

We give you your DNA mix across 80 world regions, including 21 in Britain and Ireland. You can also explore peer reviewed details of the areas of the world your ancestors are from.

MyHeritage - Scotland $

MyHeritage has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Old Scottish Genealogy & Family History - Free Historical Records

ScotlandsPlaces

A website that allows users to search across different national databases using geographic locations. Partners are The Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland, The National Records of Scotland, and The National Library of Scotland.

Scots Genes - The Complete Internet Resource for Tracing Your Scottish Ancestors

Chat Room & message board. Live interactive tutorials, extensive links.