Category Index
Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form
-
Ancestry.com - Scotland, Select Births and Baptisms, 1564-1950
$
Original source: Scotland, Births and Baptisms, 1564-1950. Salt Lake City, Utah: FamilySearch, 2013. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
-
Ancestry.com - Scotland, Select Marriages, 1561-1910
$
Original source: Scotland, Marriages, 1561-1910. Salt Lake City, Utah: FamilySearch, 2013. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
-
Birth and Baptism Records in the UK
An introduction to birth and baptism records.
-
Burial and Death Records in the UK
An introduction to burial and death records.
-
Details List of the Old Parochial Registers of Scotland - Google Book Search
This list is based on the printed Detailed List of the Old Parochial Registers of Scotland which was first published in 1872. It provides a basic reference guide for identifying the dates for the births/baptisms, marriages/proclamations of marriage and deaths/burials in the Old Parish Registers (OPRs) held by the General Register Office for Scotland.
-
DustyDocs - Links to Free Websites in Scotland Containing Parish Records
FREE
Dustydocs is a 'web-linking site' of Scottish baptisms, marriages and burials records for the years 1538 to 1900. The information is sourced from freely available church BMB records and validated user contributions. Searches can be conducted using family names and/or locations.
-
FamilySearch - Scotland Births and Baptisms, 1564-1950
FREE
Index to selected Scotland births and baptisms. Only a few localities are included and the time period varies by locality. This collection contains 9,431,034 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
-
FamilySearch - Scotland Marriages, 1561-1910
FREE
Index to selected Scotland marriages. Only a few localities are included and the time period varies by locality. This collection contains 2,058,305 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
-
Free British Isles Birth Records Information
Guide to free online birth and baptismal records, indexes, and transcription sites for England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.
-
FreeREG - Search UK Parish Register Indices
FreeREG is a free access site, in the process of making available transcriptions for parish registers throughout England, Scotland, and Wales.
-
A guide for researching marriage records, marriage certificates & the history of marriage in the UK.
-
An introduction to marriage records.
-
National Records of Scotland (NRS) is a non-ministerial department of the Scottish Government. The purpose is to collect, preserve and produce information about Scotland's people and history and make it available to inform current and future generations. Established on 1 April 2011, following the merger of the General Register Office for Scotland (GROS) and the National Archives of Scotland (NAS).
-
A volunteer project to share birth, death and marriage information that you have gathered from your research.
-
ScotlandsPeople - The official Scottish genealogy resource
$
A fully searchable pay-per-view website which gives access to birth, marriage and death records (Statutory Registers, Old Parish Registers, and Catholic Registers); census records from 1841 to 1911, Valuation Rolls, and Scottish wills and testaments from 1513 to 1925. The initial surname search is free and covers all records, allowing you to check how many records of a particular surname appear in the various datasets, before you commit to payment and purchase credits toward viewing the digitized images of the records. This is the official government source of genealogical data for Scotland: a partnership between the National Records of Scotland (a merger of the General Register Office for Scotland and the National Archives of Scotland) and the Court of the Lord Lyon.
-
The Old Parish Registers (OPR's) comprise the records of births & baptisms, banns & marriages and deaths & burials kept by individual parishes of the Established Church (Church of Scotland) before the introduction of civil registration in 1855.
-
NRS Research Guide - Catholic Parish Registers
The records cover all Scottish parishes in existence by 1855
-
The official records of births, marriages and deaths in Scotland from 1 January 1855 when civil registration replaced the old system of registration by parishes of the Established Church (Church of Scotland).
-
-
Scottish Indexes have indexed Scottish birth, marriage and death records (including Quaker births 1647-1874 and Quaker marriages 1656-1875). These BMDs are usually records that are not available on scotlandspeople.gov.uk. Scottish Indexes are also indexing paternity cases found in the Scottish Sheriff Courts as well as indexing prison registers and historic mental health records. Record sets include: Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Lists; 1841, 1851 and 1861 Census; Mental Health Records; Scotland's Criminal Database; Court of Session Index; Scottish Paternity Index; Poor Relief Records Index; Non-OPR Births/Baptisms, Banns/Marriages and Deaths/Burials; Kelso Dispensary Patient Records; Deeds Index; and Register of Sasines.
