United Kingdom & Ireland » Ireland & Northern Ireland » How To

Legacy Family Tree Webinars - Irish Emigration to North America: Before, during and after Famine

Legacy Family Tree Webinars - My ancestors were Irish – or were they?

Legacy Family Tree Webinars - Using Irish newspapers and other printed material

Legacy QuickGuide: Irish Genealogy $

Looking to find those elusive Irish ancestors? The Irish Genealogy Legacy QuickGuide contains useful information including a timeline of Irish history events, tips on Irish genealogy research strategy, outline of major immigrant groups, and more. Also included are links to websites and resources covering vital records, church records, census records, as well as general Irish genealogy resources. This handy 5-page PDF guide can be used on your computer or mobile device for anytime access.

National Archives of Ireland - Sources for family history

Preparing for a Research Trip (even if it's next year)

Steps you can take now to prepare for a Research Trip to Ireland.

Roots Revealed - Genealogy: Researching Your Family History Course

Each Monday evening from 16 September 2019 to 18 November 2019 with an additional date for a visit to PRONI tbc. Ballymena, County Antrim.

RTE Television - The Genealogy Roadshow

Irish television program. The Roadshow's crack historical and genealogical team toured the country to help people verify their old family tales and hunches. Over the course of four episodes The Genealogy Roadshow has uncovered extraordinary stories on the branches of the Irish public's family trees and gives advice on how to track down your own family history.

The Valuation of Ireland (Ordnance Survey)

An essay, by Thomas Davis, on the origin of the Ordnance Survey of Ireland.

Tracing British Seaman & Their Ships

Tracing Your Irish Ancestors - ONLINE Course - Irish Times Training

By Irish genealogist, John Grenham. This online course provides a comprehensive guide to all the records, resources and research techniques you will need to trace your family history. It combines detailed analysis of the relevant sources with hands-on internet research to produce a personalised research plan.

Tracing Your Irish Roots

Tracing Your Irish Roots

Article which outlines the online genealogical database records in Ireland and state archives.

Ulster Historical Foundation - Irish Genealogy Research Ireland, Ulster, Antrim, Down, Belfast: Events

Users who are researching Irish ancestors will be interested in a lecture series on Irish genealogy, which is open to the general public.

University College Cork, Ireland - Genealogy

The Diploma in Genealogy combines practical skills with portfolio based assessments designed to equip our learners with transferable skills aimed at genealogy, heritage and tourism employment. The course offers modules in genealogy, fieldwork, collection care and portfolio building. The Diploma offers participants the opportunity to engage in an interdisciplinary study of the past while developing genealogical research skills.