United Kingdom & Ireland » U.K. General » Societies & Groups

National Council on Archives

National Federation of Cemetery Friends

Groups of volunteers dedicated to preserving their local cemeteries.

Police History Society

The Police History Society was founded in 1985 and now has over 350 members world-wide, although most are in the U.K. They include serving and retired members of police forces, academics, librarians, writers, police forces and police related museums and people from many occupations who have an interest in police history.

Project Roots and the Canadian War Children of World War Two

Project Roots is a voluntary agency based in the Netherlands which reunites Canadian Veterans with the British and European War Children they left behind at the end of World War Two.

Railway & Canal Historical Society

Founded in 1954 to bring together all those interested in the history of transport, with particular reference to railways and waterways in Britain, its main objects are to promote historical research and to raise the standard of published history.

Railway Ancestors Family History Society

The purpose and aims of the Railway Ancestors Family History Society is to help members trace their ancestry by informing them through the pages of the Society's Quarterly Information Journal, of records, documents, books, staff magazines, and special collections, etc., that exist in the record depositories and by discovering and investigating previously unknown sources.

Romany & Traveller Family History Society

Family History Society for those with ancestors who were Gypsies or other travellers in Britain (England, Wales, Scotland).

Royal Pharmaceutical Society

SeekitFinditFast

SeekitFinditFast.com allows you to search for records from these groups in the United Kingdom: Society of Genealogists; British Association of Cemeteries in South Asia; Norfolk Family History Society; Parish Register Transcription Society; Families In British India Society; Sussex Family History Group.

Society of Genealogists

Founded in 1911, the SoG and its library are located in London, England.

The Brewery History Society

Dedicated to the promotion of research into the history of the brewing industry in the British Isles.
[The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]

The British Cartographic Society

The Chapels Society

The Children's Society

The Church Monuments Society

The Harleian Society

U.K. The Harleian Society is a registered charity (no. 253659), established in 1869 and incorporated in 1902. Its official objects are the transcribing, printing and publishing of the heraldic visitations of counties, parish registers or any manuscripts relating to genealogy, family history and heraldry.

The Historical Association

United Kingdom. Aims to further the study, teaching and enjoyment of history at all levels: teacher and student, amateur and professional. Promoting local and community history throughout England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland with publications, educational materials, seminars and events.

The Historical Diving Society

The Huguenot Society of Great Britain and Ireland

The Inland Waterways Association

United Kingdom.