United Kingdom & Ireland » U.K. General » Census

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• 1901 Leftovers

  A collection of 1901 UK Census records, submitted by genealogists around the world. More than 14,000 records so far and growing.

• Ancestry.com - UK Census Collection

  Searchable index; census images available with fee-based subscription.

  • Ancestry.com - 1841 Channel Islands Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1841. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1841. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1841 England Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1841. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1841. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1841 Isle of Man Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1841. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1841. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1841 Scotland Census

    Original source: 1841 Scotland Census. Edinburgh, Scotland: General Register Office for Scotland. Reels 1-151.

  • Ancestry.com - 1841 Wales Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1841. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1841. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1851 Channel Islands Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1851. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1851. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1851 England Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1851. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1851. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1851 Isle of Man Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1851. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1851. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1851 Scotland Census

    Original source: 1851 Scotland Census. Reels 1-217. General Register Office for Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Ancestry.com - 1851 Wales Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1851. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1851. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1861 Channel Islands Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1861. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1861. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1861 England Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1861. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1861. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1861 Isle of Man Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1861. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1861. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1861 Scotland Census

    Original source: 1861 Scotland Census. Reels 1-150. General Register Office for Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Ancestry.com - 1861 Wales Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1861. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1861. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1871 Channel Islands Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1871. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1871. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1871 England Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1871. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1871. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1871 Isle of Man Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1871. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1871. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1871 Scotland Census

    Original source: 1871 Scotland Census. Reels 1-191. General Register Office for Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Ancestry.com - 1871 Wales Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1871. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1871. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1881 Channel Islands Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1881. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1881.

  • Ancestry.com - 1881 England Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1881. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1881.

  • Ancestry.com - 1881 Isle of Man Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1881. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1881.

  • Ancestry.com - 1881 Scotland Census

    Original source: 1881 Scotland Census. Reels 1-338. General Register Office for Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Ancestry.com - 1881 Wales Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1881. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1881.

  • Ancestry.com - 1891 Channel Islands Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1891. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1891. Data imaged from The National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1891 England Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1891. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1891. Data imaged from The National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1891 Isle of Man Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1891. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1891. Data imaged from The National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1891 Scotland Census

    Original source: 1891 Scotland Census. Reels 1-409. General Register Office for Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Ancestry.com - 1891 Wales Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1891. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1891. Data imaged from The National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1901 Channel Islands Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1901. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1901. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1901 England Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1901. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1901. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1901 Isle of Man Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1901. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1901. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

  • Ancestry.com - 1901 Scotland Census

    Original source: 1901 Scotland Census. Reels 1-446. General Register Office for Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Ancestry.com - 1901 Wales Census

    Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1901. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1901. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.

• British Data Archive

  British census records on CD and DVD.

  • Census Releases

• FamilySearch - England and Wales Census, 1881 ^FREE

  Index to the population schedule for England, Wales, Isle of Man and Channel Islands showing population as of 3 April 1881.

• FamilySearch Wiki - British Census Worksheet

• Findmypast - 1901 England, Wales & Scotland Census $

  Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

• Findmypast - 1939 Register $

  In the event of war a National Register was taken that listed the personal details of every civilian in England and Wales. The 1931 census was destroyed by fire. No census was taken in 1941 because of the war. So the 1939 register is the only national census-like resource available for this period. Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

• Findmypast - Announcing: the 1921 Census

• FreeCEN: UK Census Online Project

  Project to transcribe the 1841, 1851, 1861, 1871 and 1891 England, Scotland, & Wales censuses for free online search.

• The National Archives - Research Guides - Census records

• The National Archives (U.K.)

  Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.

  • Search our website

• Tom Nunamaker's Census Age Calculator

  For UK census years.

• UK Census Dates

• UK Census Dates