United Kingdom & Ireland » England » Occupations

Ancestry.com - Search Schools, Directories & Church Histories Records

Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.

Ancestry.com - UK, Postal Service Appointment Books, 1737-1969 $

Original source: Post Office: Staff nomination and appointment, 1831-1969. Microfilm, POST 58, 80 rolls. The Postal Museum. London, England. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Brickmakers Index

Index of brickfield workers and owners gathered from census, local histories and directories in England, mainly from southeast England.

British Southern Whale Fishery : Crew Lists - Whaling History

The British Southern Whale Fishery voyage database includes information about all known British southern whaling voyages from 1775 to 1859. The Crew database, which is primarily the work of Dale Chatwin, contains nearly 14,000 entries for men who served in the British Southern Whale Fishery between 1775 and 1859.

Corkcutters of England

Description of corkcutting in England with index of corkcutters.

FamilySearch Wiki - England Textile Occupations Silk, Cotton, Weaving (National Institute)

Findmypast $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Join Findmypast and you

History by the Yard

They specialise in the history of policing in London and undertake family history enquiries and provide career details of ancestors who served as police officers in London. The website also provides historical information about Scotland Yard and the Metropolitan Police, including famous cases. They maintain a record of Metropolitan Police officers who have received gallantry awards.

Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales

Lost Trawlermen of Hull

List of those who worked on the fishing trawlers of Hull, England and lost their lives.

Migrants from the West Country who joined the South Wales Police

Office-Holders In Modern Britain

Lists of officials who served in the departments of central government since the Restoration. Online lists include Clerks of the Privy Council, Clerks of the Privy Seal, Clerks of the Signet, The Household of Queen Victoria, and Officers of the Green Cloth.

Photographers of Great Britain and Ireland 1840 to 1940

Records of London's Livery Companies Online - Apprentices and Freemen 1400-1900

The Records of London's Livery Companies Online project is a partnership between the Centre for Metropolitan History, The Bowyers' Company, The Clothworkers' Company, The Drapers' Company, The Founders

Revisiting Dickens - Prostitution in Victorian England

A detailed background to the social history and conditions that led to prostitution.

South West England Genealogical Indexes

Newspaper indexes, parish registers, Somerset Trade Directory 1874-5, inquests, and miscellaneous transcriptions.

The ‘Family and Business in North-west England, 1760-1820’ Project Website

Searchable database of individuals and families involved in small family businesses in the north-west of England between 1760-1820. Includes several thousand images of original documents.

The Brewery History Society

Dedicated to the promotion of research into the history of the brewing industry in the British Isles.

The Clergy of the Church of England Database 1540-1835 (CCEd)

Makes available and searchable the principal records of clerical careers from over 50 archives in England and Wales with the aim of providing coverage of as many clerical lives as possible from the Reformation to the mid-nineteenth century. The Database fills major gaps in our knowledge of one of the most important professions in early modern England and Wales. It provides an invaluable research tool for both national and local, academic and amateur historians, and genealogists who often need to discover biographical information about individual clergymen or more about the succession of clergy in a particular place. CCEd is a collaboration between historians at King

The English National Football Archive

Online database of English football clubs and football players in England containing the details of players, match line-ups and goals scored for every Football League club and Premier League club game since 1888 to the present, together with tournament fixtures such as the FA Cup (so some details of smaller, other league and local football clubs).