United Kingdom & Ireland » England » Birth, Marriage, Death

FamilySearch - Free Family History and Genealogy Records

Findmypast $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Join Findmypast and you

Findmypast $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Join Findmypast and you

Free British Isles Birth Records Information

Guide to free online birth and baptismal records, indexes, and transcription sites for England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

FreeBMD

An ongoing project, the aim of which is to transcribe the Civil Registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales, and to provide free Internet access to the transcribed records.

FreeREG - Search UK Parish Register Indices

FreeREG is a free access site, in the process of making available transcriptions for parish registers throughout England, Scotland, and Wales.

General Register Office - Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service

The official service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) from England & Wales to be ordered via the Internet.

Gov.UK - Research your family history using the General Register Office

You can order birth, adoption, marriage, civil partnership and death certificates from the General Register Office (GRO) to help you research your family history and family tree. GRO has all the records registered in England and Wales from July 1837.

Marriage Law for Genealogists: The Definitive Guide

What everyone tracing their family history needs to know about where, when, who and how their English and Welsh ancestors married. A book by Rebecca Probert for sale from Amazon.com.

Marriage Records

A guide for researching marriage records, marriage certificates & the history of marriage in the UK.

Marriage Records in the UK

An introduction to marriage records.

Memories In Time - GRO - Birth Index Search Form ^FREE

This form is designed to help you keep track of your searches in the GRO Online Indexes for England & Wales births.

Phillimore Parish Registers - Marriages Database Search

This database contains transcripts of Marriage records extracted from many parish registers, and published by Phillimore & Co. in the late 19th and early 20th centuries under the title: "Phillimore Parish Registers - Marriages series". We have a major indexing project underway to add all of the Phillimore Marriages volumes to the index, so please check back regularly to see what is new.

Registering life events : Directgov - Government, citizens and rights

Order birth, marriage, death, civil partnership, stillbirth or adoption certificates. You can order certain certificates online, by post or telephone through the General Register Office or from the local authority where the event took place.

South West England Genealogical Indexes

Newspaper indexes, parish registers, Somerset Trade Directory 1874-5, inquests, and miscellaneous transcriptions.

Summer Lovin': Marriage Trends Through the Generations

This article from The Parchment Rustler examines England & Wales marriage statistics from official sources. It looks at how people's ages at marriage and the time of year marriages took place have been influenced by national and international events.

The St. Catherine's Marriage Index

The St. Catherine's Marriage Index Includes selective transcriptions for South-East England, a complete transcription for the March Quarter of 1849 for all of England & Wales, and an ongoing transcription for the Year 1856.

UK BMD

Online searchable indexes of selected birth, marriage & death registrations.

UK GRO Certificate 1838-1911 Collection

This is a collection of GRO entries that I have accrued during my ancestry research. It also has a searchable parish registries from the North East of England on it.