United Kingdom & Ireland » U.K. & Ireland Census » General Resources

200 Years of the Census

The bicentenary of the census in Great Britain.

Ancestry.com - UK Census Collection

Searchable index; census images available with fee-based subscription.

British Genealogy & Family History Forums

Free genealogy message board forums for all of the United Kingdom and beyond. Several topic-specific forums for occupations, records types and historic events.

Census Online - England

Links to online census records for England.

Findmypast - 1939 Register $

In the event of war a National Register was taken that listed the personal details of every civilian in England and Wales. The 1931 census was destroyed by fire. No census was taken in 1941 because of the war. So the 1939 register is the only national census-like resource available for this period. Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Findmypast - Search - Census, Land & Substitutes $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Five Thousand Ways to Earn a Living

A list of trades and professions taken from British census records and parish records.
[The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]

Free Census Searches

Free Census searches for the UK. Provides links to several genuine free census resources.

FreeCEN: UK Census Online Project

Project to transcribe the 1841, 1851, 1861, 1871 and 1891 England, Scotland, & Wales censuses for free online search.

GENUKI: England and Wales:- Census

Irish Census Records: Online Ireland Census Records & Indexes

Online Irish Census Indexes & Records. Ireland Census Records by County - A Genealogy Guide.

National Archives of Ireland Genealogy Records: Official census returns and census substitutes

One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse

Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.

Online Census Records & Indexes for Australia, Canada, Ireland, Scandinavia, United Kingdom

A directory of free and fee-based online census records and indexes for Australia, Canada, Denmark, England, Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, and Wales.

Online Census Records & Indexes for England, Scotland & Wales

Online United Kingdom Census Indexes & Records. For England, Scotland & Wales - a Genealogy Guide.

Scottish Genealogy LDS Reference Information - Census Films

Family History Library Catalog numbers for the Scottish Censuses of 1841 to 1891.

The National Archives - Research Guides - Census records

The National Archives (U.K.)

Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.

TheGenealogist $

Dedicated to helping you find British your roots. The Genealogist is all about family history research and discovering your ancestors using a wide variety of data from 1100 through to the present day. Covering birth, marriage and death records, census records, parish records, nonconformist records, will records, military records and more.

Tom Nunamaker's Census Age Calculator