South Africa / Suid-Afrika » Birth, Marriage, Death

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• Apostilles in South Africa - Birth, marriage, divorce, death certificates

  Documentation from the South African Department of Home Affairs: unabridged birth certificates, unabridged marriage certificates, unabridged death certificates, vault copy certificates.

• Department of Home Affairs

  Includes information on birth, marriage, and death certificates.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Cape Province, Civil Deaths, 1895-1972 ^FREE

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Cape Province, Western Cape Archives Records 1796-1992 ^FREE

  Church records, civil registration, probate estate files, slave records and immigration records housed in the Western Cape Archive located in Cape Town. The records pertain to places throughout the Cape Province. This collection is being published as images become available.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Church of the Province of South Africa, Parish Registers, 1850-2004 ^FREE

  Digital images of parish registers of the "Church of the Province of South Africa." Since 2006, the church has been officially known as the "Anglican Church of Southern Africa." Original records are contained within the collection of the William Cullen Library, University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. The Church presently includes dioceses in Angola, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Saint Helena, South Africa and Swaziland. Availability of records is largely dependent on time period and locality.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Dutch Reformed Church Records, Stellenbosch Archive 1660-2011 ^FREE

  Images of baptisms, confirmations, marriages, deaths, and memberships of the Dutch Reformed Church [Nederduits Gereformeerde Kerk In Afrika] housed at the Genealogical Institute of South Africa [Genealogiese Instituut van Suid-Afrika] Archive at Stellenbosch, South Africa. Communities from the entire country of South Africa are represented. Includes records from the current African nations of Botswana, Malawi, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe. This collection is being published as images become available.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Dutch Reformed Church Registers, 1660-1970 ^FREE

  Index and images of baptisms, marriages, and membership records of the Dutch Reformed Church . This collection contains records from various locations which were part of historic Cape Colony, including Namibia, Cape of Good Hope province and Transvaal province. Record coverage will vary depending on location. This collection is being published as images and records become available.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Eastern Cape, Estate Files, 1962-2004 ^FREE

  Images of copies of primary genealogical records such as death notices, marriage certificates, birth certificates, and wills, from the probate estate files located in the Master of the High Court Offices in Grahamstown. This collection is being published as images become available.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Free State Dutch Reformed Church Records, 1848-1956 ^FREE

  Index and images of christenings, marriages and memberships.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Methodist Parish Registers, 1822-1996 ^FREE

  Images of baptisms, marriages, and burials recorded in various Methodist parishes.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Natal Province, Civil Marriages, 1845-1955 ^FREE

  Civil marriage certificates for Natal Province sent to the Registrar General in Pretoria. Marriage certificates may include date of act, date of registration, name of bride and groom, ages, place of marriage, birth place, occupations, and residence at time of marriage. Records are usually filed by date of registration and include registrations of Blacks, Coloureds, Indians and Whites. Text of original records is in English or Afrikaans.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Netherdutch Reformed Church Registers (Pretoria Archive), 1838-1991 ^FREE

  Christening, marriage, and membership records of the Netherdutch Reformed Church of Africa (Nederduitsch Hervormde Kerk van Afrika) located in Pretoria. Records are from various areas of South Africa, Angola, Kenya, Namibia, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Reformed Church Records, 1856-1988 ^FREE

  Images of christenings, marriages, membership records, and some indexes for several parishes in South Africa and surrounding countries.

• FamilySearch - South Africa, Western Cape, Estate Files, 1974 ^FREE

  Images of copies of primary genealogical records such as death notices, marriage certificates, birth certificates, and wills, from the probate estate files located in the Master of the High Court Offices in Cape Town. This collection is being published as images become available.

• GenDatabase.com - South African Marriage Search

  Gendatabase offer users access to more than 10 million South African transcribed marriage records. Here visitors can search our free database and view information such as date of marriage, place of marriage and spouse information.

• IdentityNumber.org - South African Baptism Records $

  Paying visitors can search thousands of older South African baptism records online.

• IdentityNumber.org - South African Death Records $

  Since 1992 we have been compiling death notices from public sources, such as the Government Gazette prior to 2008.

• IdentityNumber.org - South African Marriage Records $

  Paying visitors can search thousands of older South African marriage records online.

• IdentityNumber.org - The 1800's in South Africa $

  Paying visitors can view user-submitted information on people who were born in the 1800s and lived in South Africa. Paying members will have access to hundreds of thousands of people in this period of time.