Military Worldwide » Records: Military, Pension, Burial, Casualties

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• 2/15th Battalion Second AIF

  Battalion of Second Australian Infantry Forces.

• Ancestry.com - Search Military Records

  Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

  • German Casualties in the Franco-Prussian War, 1870-1871 / Deutsche Verluste im Deutsch-Franz $

    Original source: Königliche Geheime Oberhofbuchdruckerei (Hrsg.). Deutsch-französischer Krieg, 1870-71, Verlust-Liste. Berlin: 1870-1871. Gebundene Zusammenfassung der fast täglich während des Krieges herausgegebenen Verlustlisten. Spezialbibliothek des Niedersächsischen Landesvereins für Familienkunde e.V., M 0054. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

• ArkivDigital - Swedish Genealogy $

  A subscription service. The image database consists of about 210,000 historical books, documents and records or 61 million digital color images of Swedish church records, estate inventories, court records, tax/census records and other historical records. We use modern technology to digitalize the records directly from the original books and we extend the image database with more than 600,000 color images each month.

• Australia Remembers

  List of names on the crosses placed on the grounds surrounding the Shrine of Rememberance. Surnames are listed alphabetically. From the Genealogical Society of Victoria.

  • Researching Australian Military Personnel

• Australian ANZACs in the Great War 1914-1918

  Online searchable database for more than 330,000 men & women who embarked from Australia for service overseas in the (First) Australian Imperial Force. Research & information from the University of New South Wales & the Australian Defence Force Academy, Canberra.

  • First AIF Order of Battle 1914-1918

  • Frequently Asked Questions

  • Ordering From the AIF Project

  • Search

    Search is free. Obtaining printouts of additional information for an ANZAC requires an additional fee.

    • Irish-born Enlistments in the AIF

      Approximately 3,000 men born in Ireland enlisted for service in the AIF.

    • New Zealand-born Members of the AIF

      More than 1,500 New Zealand-born men enlisted for service in the 1st Australian Imperial Force.

    • Victoria Cross Winners

      64 members of the AIF were awarded the Victoria Cross during the First World War.

  • Sources

• Australian Service Nurses National Memorial

  Nurses who died during or as a result of War Service, since the Boer War, compiled by Phyllis Wilson of the Returned and Service Nurses Club of Victoria.

• Australian War Graves Photographic Archive (Facebook)

  The Australian War Graves Photographic Archive was began in 2000, and is committed to procuring a digital photograph of every Australian War Grave and Memorial Commemoration; worldwide.

• Belgian War Graves

  Approximately 28,000 Belgian soldiers died in the Great War 1914-1918.
  [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]

• Buffalonians in The Polish Army

  Source of this listing from Buffalo and Erie County in the World War 1914-1919.

• Commonwealth War Graves Commission

  Details of 1.7 million members of UK and Commonwealth forces who died in the 1st and 2nd World Wars and other wars, and 60,000 civilian casualties of WWII. Gives details of grave site, date of death, age, usually parents/widow's address.

• Edgars from Australia killed in the First World War

  Details of members of the EDGAR family from Australia killed in the First World War.

• EDGARS from New Zealand killed in WW1

  Details of the members of the EDGAR family from New Zealand killed in the First World War.
  [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]

• GENUKI: British Military Records, UK and Ireland

• HAGSOC: Graves and Memorials of Australians in the Boer War 1899-1902

  This project, by the Heraldry & Genealogy Society of Canberra, aims to publish the database of burial and memorial locations of Australians who died during the second South African Anglo-Boer War of 1899 - 1902. Also included are biographies, researched by the Society, of selected soldiers from each of the Australian States.

• Haller's Army Index | Polish Genealogical Society of America

  An estimated 20,000 Polish persons answered the call to fight for freedom and the opportunity to regain Poland's independence during World War I in the Polish Army in France.

• Hessian Troops in America

  Im Vorfeld des 200. Jubil

• iCasualties | Operation Iraqi Freedom | Iraq

  Detailed information on individual casualties in the Iraq Coalition since March, 2003. Uses official sources for death information of multi-national Coalition service members, contractors, journalists & Iraqi security forces - see Fatality Details. Provides name, rank, service branch, unit & hometown as well as date, location & cause of casualty. Gives limited information on non-fatal casualties as well - see Some of the Wounded.

• John Thomas MURRAY

  Description of a New Zealand prisoner of war in Stalag XVIIIA in Austria.

• Kilmore and District World War 1 Soldiers and Nurses

  List of district soldiers and nurses from Kilmore, Victoria, Australia compiled from various sources.

• Leaders of Anzacs - ANZAC officers died at Gallipoli, 1915