Maps & Geography » Google Earth

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• Earth Point - Tools for Google Earth

  • Convert Coordinates - Calculate a position in a variety of formats

  • Excel To KML - Display Excel files on Google Earth

  • Township and Range - Public Land Survey System on Google Earth

• Earth Survey - PLSS in Google Earth (PLSGE)

• Examples illustrating how you might use Google Earth for your genealogy:

• Free Google Earth for Genealogy Video Class

  By Lisa Louise Cook. Google Earth can geographically document our ancestors

• Genealogy through Google Earth

  A blog by Eric Stitt, sharing the why and how to use Google Earth in your Familiy History Research.

• Google Earth

• Google Earth Hacks - Fun stuff for Google Earth

  • City, Country Maps

    • Ireland Counties

    • Tribal Boundaries

• Google Earth Pro by Nicky Smith (YouTube)

• Happy Map-Makers Website

  Genealogy searching aids for Baltimore (City and County), mainly for the Maryland Archives. Covers land, vital records, church records, newspapers, city directories and historic maps. Maps of colonial leases and land grants in Baltimore and Harford Counties, Maryland.

• How To Articles for Genealogy:

  • StudentsOfDescent: Google Earth

  • Using old maps, Google Earth, deeds and census records to find your ancestral home place

    From Virginia Family Tree Genealogy.

• Metes & Bounds on Google Earth (YouTube)

  By James Tanner, from the BYU FHL webinar series.

• NYG&B - Google Earth for Genealogy, Part 1: Putting Your Ancestors on the Map

• Plotting Land with Google Earth Pro

  By Lisa Louise Cooke

• The Historic County Border Project

  The Historic County Borders Project digitised the borders of the historic counties of the UK and has made them freely available for public and commercial use. Download a file with the historic counties of England in GoogleEarth KMZ format.

• Twitter - googleearth