Germany / Deutschland » How To

Basic Research Outline for German Genealogy

From the German Roots website.

Familienforschung für die Ohren | der Genealoge

The Genealogist - Family research for your ears is a German podcast which is updated monthly with several topics about research, software, events and the German genealogical societies.

Familienforschung in Orten ohne Kirchenbücher: Methodische Einführung

Methodical introduction and examples for genealogical resarch in Central European villages without parish registers.

FamilySearch - Help Center - Learning Center ^FREE

Hundreds of free online genealogy courses. Enter a keyword in the search box to see a list of lessons for that topic.

FamilySearch Wiki - Germany Genealogy

Finding Passenger Lists 1820-c.1940

A basic tutorial for German Americans by Joe Beine, German Roots Webmaster.

Genealogy at a Glance: German Genealogy Research

By Ernest Thode. From the special laminated "Genealogy at a Glance" series from Genealogical Publishing Company.

Genealogy Research in Stuttgart Libraries and Archives

Tips and hints by Lisa Petersen.

German Genealogical Research Before The Church Records Begin

Tips and hints by Lisa Petersen.

German Genealogy Headquarters New!

The go-to place for German genealogy education and mentoring!

Hints for researchers outside Germany

International German Genealogy Partnership

The International German Genealogy Partnership’s mission is to facilitate German genealogy research globally as the internationally recognized federation of German genealogy organizations.

Interview with Timo Kracke - German genealogist and Podcaster

Interview with Timo Kracke, the host of "Der Genealoge" podcast in Germany. We discuss researching in Germany, the interest of ancestry search in Deutschland and Timo shows us the German database GOV The Historic Gazetteer http://gov.genealogy.net/search/index.

Legacy QuickGuide: German Genealogy $

The German Genealogy Legacy QuickGuide

Ortsfamilienbücher / Ortssippenbücher: How to Use Online OFBs at Genealogy.net

Brief video from FamilySearch about how to use Ortsfamilienbücher/Ortssippenbücher on Genealogy.net (CompGen)

RootsTech - German Research for the Everyday American

By Karynne Moses.

The German Genealogy Girl's Podcast

Ursula C. Krause, a.k.a. The German Genealogy Girl, is a well-known genealogical researcher, consultant, writer, lecturer, speaker and traveler through time. Through her business Rootseekers

Tips for Finding German Genealogy Records for your German-American Ancestor

Suggestions for finding German genealogy records at the Family History Library, in German archives, and on the Internet.