Death Records » Locality Specific: United States » Ohio

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• Cincinnati Birth and Death Records, 1865-1912

  This is a collection of over 528,000 records. The original official records are owned by the City of Cincinnati and housed in the Archives and Rare Books Library, University of Cincinnati Libraries, University of Cincinnati. The records, consisting of index cards, were created by the Cincinnati Health Department several decades ago and are considered the official and legal records of births and deaths for this time period.

• FamilySearch - Free Family History and Genealogy Records

  • Ohio Deaths 1908-1953

• FamilySearch - Ohio Deaths and Burials, 1854-1997 ^FREE

  Name index to death and burial records from the state of Ohio. Microfilm copies of these records are available at the Family History Library and Family History Centers. This set contains 2,535,557 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.

• FamilySearch - Ohio, Death Index, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2007 ^FREE

  Index of deaths from the Ohio Department of Health in Columbus. Index provided by Ancestry.com.

• FamilySearch - Ohio, Deaths, 1908-1953 ^FREE

  Name index and images of Ohio statewide death certificates.

• FamilySearch - Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004 ^FREE

  Images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death in the Diocese of Toledo (FamilySearch.org - Ohio), Roman Catholic Church. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes miscellaneous cemetery records, Books of the Elect, Professions of Faith, Sick Call registers, etc.

• Findmypast - Ohio Deaths, 1959-2012 $

• Findmypast - Ohio, Death Certificate Index, 1909-1912, 1945-1953 $

• Genealogical & Historical Records of Preble County, Ohio - Database 2

  Funeral & Cemetery Indexes, Marriage Records, Military Records, Ohio Historic Inventory, Preble County Deaths, Tax Lists, and Vital Records. Please notice there are two Genealogical & Historical Records of Preble County databases listed. Database 1 is the original with 59,504 records. All new records are being added to the second database. Database 2 has over 23,000 records with new ones added monthly.

• Hamilton County Probate Court - Deaths

  Death Records (1881-1908)

• Index Cuyahoga County, Ohio Coroner Files 1833-1900

  Provides cause and date of death for those occurring in Cuyahoga county between 1833 and 1900.

• Lorain County Records Retention Center - Probate Court Early Birth and Death Records

  1867-1908 birth records, 1867-1908 death records for Lorain County, Ohio.

• Montgomery County - Historical Public Records Request Form

  Births and Deaths (Probate Court) 1867-1908; Births and Deaths (City of Dayton) 1867-1908; Marriages 1803-1959; Divorces 1876-1949; Wills & Estates 1803-1939 (Index 1803-1938); Deed Records 1805-1933 (Index 1805-1928); Various Court Records 1803-.

• Ohio Department of Health - Vital Statistics

  Provides contact information, fees, and availability information for birth, death and other records in Ohio.

• Ohio History Connection's Select Ohio Public Records Index

  Database includes: Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates, 1913-1944; Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates, 1954-1963; Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates, 1913-1935; Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates, 1942-1949; Columbus Board of Health Death Certificates, 1904-1908.

• Online Cleveland & Cuyahoga County, Ohio Death Indexes, Records & Obituaries

  Directory of some online cemetery, obituary and probate indexes. Also includes ordering information for Ohio death certificates.

• Online Ohio Death Indexes, Records & Obituaries

  A Genealogy Records Guide from Joe Beine.

• Online Ohio Vital Records Indexes - Birth, Marriage & Death Records

  A directory of resources for Ohio genealogy research.

• The Cleveland Necrology File and News Index

  Searchable online database of paid death notices which were published in the following newspapers: Cleveland Plain Dealer (1850-1975), The Cleveland Herald (1833, 1847-1848, 1876, 1878-1879), The Cleveland Press (1941-1975). The Cleveland News Index lists citation information for local news stories, feature articles and reviews from: The Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999), Cleveland Magazine (1983-2014), Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990-June 2009), Ohio Magazine (Oct. 1990-2014). The Cleveland News Index lists citation information for death notices and obituaries from: The Cleveland Plain Dealer (1976-2014), The Cleveland Press (1976-1982).

• The Lawrence Register - Vital Records

  Our listings of various births, deaths, divorces, census, deeds, marriages, wills, and some obituaries are NOT THE actual records, but indexes only. These indexes are a tool for helping one with their genealogical research. As with any research, you will need to go through various records to document your sources.