Catholic » Libraries, Archives & Museums

Diocesan Archives - Diocese of Brooklyn

The Diocesan Archives of Brooklyn contains nearly 8,000 cubic feet of records. Among the types of records found in the Archives are ledgers, correspondence, official documents of appointment of bishops, pastors and other officials, parish histories, parish anniversary journals, parish boundaries, diocesan directories, reports, promotional literature, marriage dispensation records, records of closed schools and parishes, deceased priest personnel files, financial records. Of particular note are histories of Catholic parishes in Brooklyn, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk Counties, dating mainly from the 1880s to 1990s.

Diocese of Charleston Archives

Charleston, South Carolina. Holdings date from 1789 and continue to the present. The Archives include the papers of bishops, the administrative records of diocesan offices, chancery correspondence, and records of various agencies, religious orders, programs, and individuals reflecting the work and goals of the Church. In addition, we have the annual reports of parishes, parish histories, property records, deed and construction files, some architectural drawings, cemetery records, newspapers and photographs. Because individual parishes are required by Canon 535 to maintain their own archives, original registers containing sacramental records are not held in the Diocesan Archives. However, the archives often have microfilm copies of parish registers and these are available to search for sacramental records prior to 1930.

Diocese of Houma Thibodaux - Archives & Historical Research Center

Louisiana.

Diocese of Owensboro Archives

Kentucky.

Diocese of Reno Archives

Nevada.

Episcopal Diocese of Maryland Archives

Genealogy Research for Family Members: Roman Catholic Diocese of Harrisburg

Harrisburg, Dauphin County, Pennsylvania

Guide to Catholic Church Records at the Archives

From the Maryland State Archives.

Leeds Diocesan Archives

The archives holds the papers of the Roman Catholic Church in Yorkshire, (1688-; some papers for other parts of the North of England before 1840. Hogarth MSS: 19th-century transcripts of the papers of the secular clergy in Yorkshire, 1660-).

Marquette University - Special Collections and University Archives

The mission of the Department of Special Collections and University Archives is to collect, arrange, describe, preserve, and service records of enduring historical value for research, instructional, and administrative use. The archival and manuscript collecting program of the department is an extension of the spiritual, philosophical, and scholarly strengths of the university as a Christian, Catholic, and Jesuit institution.

Marquette University- Archives - Guide to Catholic Records about Native Americans in the United States

Lists archival holdings in 12 Midwest states, which document Native American heritage and relationships with the Catholic Church. Institutional chronologies are included, which note events pertinent to the creation and disposition of the records. This revised guide was published in 1984 as Guide to Catholic Indian Mission and School Records in Midwest Repositories.

New Orleans Archdiocesan Archives

Louisiana.

Office of Archives | Roman Catholic Diocese of Lafayette, Louisiana

Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center (PAHRC)

The PAHRC contains marriage and baptismal registers before the year 1900 for parishes presently within the Archdiocese of Philadelphia (Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia Counties).

Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Cincinnati - Archives

The Historical Archives of the Chancery maintains a master set of Catholic sacramental records, on microfiche, for the nineteen (19) county area of Southwestern Ohio over which the Archdiocese of Cincinnati currently presides. However, these records are not opened to the general public, and may only be handled by authorized personnel.

Roman Catholic Diocese of Baton Rouge

Information about the archives, hours of operation, etc.

Roman Catholic Diocese of Pittsburgh - Office for Archives and Record Center

Pennsylvania. The Archives collects and preserves those records of historical significance that document the history of the diocese and of Catholicism in Western Pennsylvania.

Roman Catholic Diocese of San Jose in California - Archives and Records

Contact information only.

Salford Diocesan Archives

England. Roman Catholic Diocese of Salford.

Scottish Catholic Archives