Canada » Canada Census » General Resources

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• Ancestry.com - Search Census Records

  Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

• Automated Genealogy

  Contains an index to the following Canadian Census Index to the 1901 Census of Canada; Index to the 1911 Census of Canada; Index to the 1906 Census of Canada for Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. They are working on these other projects as well: 1871 Census of Kings County; NB Record Linking Project; Halifax Explosion Linking Project; Soldiers of the First World War Linking Project; Canadian Virtual War Memorial Linking Project; Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online Linking Project; British Home Children Linking Project; The Illustrated Index to the 1901 Census Project.

• CanGenealogy.com – Census Genealogy Sources

  Dave Obee's recommended links for genealogy research in Canada.

• Census Online - Canada

  Links to online census records for Canada.

• Findmypast - Search - Census, Land & Substitutes $

  Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

• Government of Canada - Selected Historical Data from the Census of Agriculture

• Guide to Doukhobor Census Records

  This index describes various Doukhobor census records in Canada - their historical background, dates, content, usefulness and reliability, availability and published indexes.

• Library and Archives Canada - Censuses

  • About the 1825 Census for Lower Canada

  • About the 1831 Census for Lower Canada

  • About the 1842 Census for Canada East

  • About the 1842 Census for Canada West

  • About the 1851 Census

  • About the 1861 Census

  • About the 1870 Census of Manitoba

  • About the 1871 Census (Canada)

  • About the 1881 Census

  • About the 1891 Census

  • About the 1901 Census

  • About the 1906 Census

  • About the 1911 Census

  • About the 1916 Census

  • Genealogy and Family History

• One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse

  Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.

  • Canadian and British Census

• Online Census Records & Indexes for Australia, Canada, Ireland, Scandinavia, United Kingdom

  A directory of free and fee-based online census records and indexes for Australia, Canada, Denmark, England, Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, and Wales.

• OntarioGenWeb's Census Project

• Orphan's Home Website

  Transcriptions of orphan, adoptee, and foster children listings in orphanages, homes, and poorhouses from U.S. and Canadian censuses.

• Post 1901 Census Project

  From the Global Gazette. Many concerned Canadians believe that the legislation which enforces permanent concealment of post-1901 census from the public eye, must be changed. If new legislation is not passed by Canada's Parliament, those records may never be available for future generations or us. Worse yet, our detailed census records may be destroyed.

• Post-1901 Census News (Canada)

  Article by Gordon A. Watts.

• Tom Nunamaker's Census Age Calculator