Acadian, Cajun & Creole » General Resources

Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form

• Acadian Ancestral Home - The Acadian & French Canadian Ancestral Home

  Acadian families of LeBLANC, DOIRON, GAUDET & French Canadian families of L

• Acadian Cajun Genealogy & History

• Acadian Genealogy Homepage

  This was the first (1991) Acadian-Cajun resource site on the internet. Includes complete details of Acadian-Cajun genealogy CD's produced by Yvon Cyr, as well as links to thousands of genealogy-related sites.

  • Acadian Genealogy Homepage Master Index

• Acadian GenWeb

• Acadian Memorial - honors Acadians, forebears of Cajun culture

  St. Martinville, Louisiana. The Acadian Memorial Archive has made scholarly research by Dr. Carl Brasseaux regarding Acadian exiles in Louisiana available on-line.

  • Ensemble Encore: The Acadian Memorial Archive

    Online research by Dr. Carl Brasseaux regarding Acadian exiles in Louisiana.

    • Acadian Memorial - Genealogy

      • Family Names

        Search the Wall of Names.

      • Glossary

      • Guide to Sources

        A beginners guide to the literature on Louisiana's Acadians/Cajuns.

      • Land Grants

      • Maps

      • Tracing your family's roots

• Acadian World Congress - Wikipedia

  Nova Scotia, Canada, every five years.

• Acadian/French-Canadian SURNAME Researchers

  From the Acadian Genealogy Homepage.

• Acadieville

  Acadian site by the Acadieville Historical Committee with a full list of the Acadieville Cemetery, Kent County, New-Brunswick, Canada. Most common names are ARSENAULT, BABINEAU, BARRIEAU, BORDAGE, DAIGLE, DOIRON, GOGUEN, HENRI, JOHNSON, LEBLANC, PINEAU, RICHARD, ROBICHAUD, THEBEAU, VAUTOUR.

• Avoyelleans: French Creoles

  [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
  

• Cajuns: Genealogy Site for Cajun, Acadian and Louisiana Genealogy, History and Culture

  Genealogical information, resource materials and research services for Cajun, Acadian, Colonial French and Spanish Louisiana, Creole and Louisiana genealogy, history and culture. Access to a variety of research information is provided: genealogy reports, surname reports, militia rosters, census records, Acadian exiles & prisoners, genealogy/history/food books & music CDs, and ship records. This a pay site that has everything in PDF format. These records are not readily available on the major genealogy sites, and investing in some of the files may prove worthwhile.

• CanGenealogy.com – Acadian Genealogy Sources

  Dave Obee's recommended links for genealogy research in Canada.

• Encyclopedia of Cajun Culture

• FRANCOGENE: Acadian Genealogy

  From Denis Beauregard.

• French Creoles | Geneology - Frenchcreoles.com

  French creoles of the United States, who settled in the Mississippi Delta region.

• French-Canadian Genealogical Research in Houghton County, Michigan

  Tracing French Canadians in Michigan's Copper Country by John P. DuLong.

• French-Canadian Heritage DNA Project

  A DNA project dedicated to all those French ancestors who first settled in Acadia and New France in the 17th century. Including French, French-Canadian, Acadian, Metis, Cajun and others of French Heritage.

• G

  A database of more than two million names, many of which are Acadian.

• History & Genealogy of Acadians on the Acadian Coast and Bayou Lafourche Basin of Louisiana

  History and genealogy of the parishes along the Bayou Lafourche Basin & the Acadian Coast including Assumption, Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Lafourche, St. James, St. Martin.
  [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
  [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]

• History of the Acadians - Wikipedia

• La Nouvelle-France - Resources Fran