13 December 2024
-
1790 / 1800 Virginia Tax List Censuses
Reconstructed 1790 and 1800 Federal Censuses using Tax List Microfilm Images with Every Name Indexes.
-
African American Marriage Records (Wayback Machine)
Article by Ruby Coleman.
-
Ancestry website users (Facebook)
For users of the Ancestry website (All regions are welcome) and the Ancestry mobile app, to share questions and find answers in the mechanics of using the website and the mobile app. The group concentrates on the genealogy aspect of using the Ancestry Website, finding the documents to support your tree.
-
Between a Rock and a Hard Place - A History of American Sweatshops 1820-Present
A virtual exhibition from the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of American History.
-
Boise Public Library - Obituary Index
Identify dates of obituaries and death notices published in The Idaho Statesman, from 1962-present. The index provides the date and page number of the obituary, death notice or funeral notice.
-
Pedigree Chart of John Henry Ferguson, John Jameson, Lawrence Damron Sr., Thomas Pack, John Borders.
-
"Finding Family DNA" premiered on May 1st, 2024. Hosted by LA Morning News anchor Chris Schauble and Jay Rosenzweig, founder and CEO of BirthParentFinder.com, this podcast delves into the captivating world of family reunions. Each week, we bring you a new case, illuminating the sophisticated tools of genetic genealogy and DNA technology that make these heartfelt reunions a reality. Join us as we unravel the complexities of adoption searches and share the deeply moving stories of connections rediscovered. New episodes every Wednesday!
-
World Wide Directory of Free Genealogy Databases and Record Transcriptions
-
Griffin Genealogical Research Services
J. Charles Griffin Genealogical Research Services specializes in Saskatchewan Record Research, Saskatchewan Homestead Records, as well as Canadian Military Records. J. Charles Griffin Genealogical Research Services was started in 2021 by J. Charles Griffin who is currently working towards his Saskatchewan Record Researcher Certificate from the Saskatchewan Genealogical Society. In addition, he has several years of experience in researching Canadian Military Records.
-
Histoire de - BOURGEOIS / The BOURGEOIS Story
This site attempts to document all of the Bourgeois' od Acadian descent. Following the latest update, the database now contains 31,589 records related to Bourgeois’ of which 22,646 records of Bourgeois descendants of Jacques Bourgeois and Jeanne Trahan as well as many corrections and additions to existing records. The database presently documents 52,848 descendants of the couple.
-
The Advancing Genealogist's collection of links to freely available Kentucky case law books and related references.
-
Historic Kentucky Statutory Law
Links to freely available digitized Kentucky statutory law references.
-
Kansas Historical Society - Property Ownership Maps or Plat Books
Kansas County atlases or plat books contain township maps that show rural landowners. Maps are listed alphabetically by county. If the map has been digitized, there is a link to it on Kansas Memory.
-
Magyar Roots (formerly Hungary Exchange) - Hungarian Genealogy (Facebook)
The goal of the Magyar Roots group and website, www.MagyarRoots.com, is to help anyone who needs assistance with their Hungarian genealogy research.
-
McCandlish, McCandless, Conlisk, O'Quinlist, Cundliss, et al. - the Cuindlis Families
A project on the family history, etymology, human geography, tartans, and heraldry of Scottish and Irish families with surnames derived from Old Irish Cuindlis, Cuindlaes, or (later) Coinleisc. See also our associated Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/cuindlis
-
-
National Museum of American History
From the Smithsonian.
-
National Museum of American History - Archives Center
The Archives Center supports the mission of the National Museum of American History by collecting, preserving, and providing access to archival documents that complement the museum's exhibition, research, and collecting programs. The Archives Center holds more than 1,500 collections documenting the history of technology, invention and innovation, business and consumer culture, American music, and popular culture as well as many other topics.
-
National Park Service - 6888th Central Postal Directory Battalion
The 6888th Central Postal Directory Battalion was a mostly African American battalion of the Women’s Army Corps (WAC).
-
Prescott, Arkansas
-
Northeastern New York Genealogical Society
Serving Warren, Washington, northern Saratoga, southern Essex & parts of Hamilton counties.
-
Panola College - M.P. Baker Library
Carthage, Texas
-
Panola Watchman is the newspaper of Panola County, Texas. They are still working on getting all of the issues online.
-
Pinckneyville Public Library - Genealogy
An ever growing collection of title links to the Pinckneyville Public Library archive.org collection of digitalized, full text genealogical material with primary focus on Perry County, Illinois. This page is a joint effort of the Pinckneyville Public Library and the Perry County Historical Society.
-
Saint-François-Xavier, Manitoba Sépultures 1834-1865 Burials
From the Roman Catholic parish registers of St. Francis Xavier, Manitoba, Cabada.
-
A search tool for local obituary and funeral home tributes. Featuring the lower 16 southern Illinois counties of Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, White, and Williamson.
-
The Diary of Clinton Harrison MOORE
Diary of travel from McNairy County, Tennessee to the Republic of Texas in 1839. MOORE, ROBINSON, MARTIN, BARTON, KIZER.
-
The Digital Archives of The McDonough County Genealogical Society
Eleven different McDonough County, Illinois newspapers, dating from 1860 to 1989 have been digitized for online search and clipping.
-
The Divorce Mill of the Midwest
Indiana was once known as the Divorce Mill of the Midwest due to its liberal divorce laws.
-
A virtual exhibition from the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of American History.
-
Catherine Meehan Blount explores the history and genealogy of the Charles and Hester MEEHAN family, including the ANDERSON, FREEMAN, HEAVENRICH, VON OHLEN, SPEESE, SHORES, and BROWN extended families. It is also about the communities that embraced and nurtured these families. Among them are the Queens Bush and the Elgin Settlement in Canada; Overton, DeWitty/Audacious, Westerville in Nebraska; Empire, Wyoming, and Sully County, South Dakota. Photographs, documents, and a first-person video account of life in the Nebraska Sandhills are included.
-
Tracing the Troublemakers: How To Research Your Criminal Ancestors
Discover how to trace your criminal ancestors to gain a richer picture of your family history and explore their fascinating stories.
-
Tiffin, Ohio.
-
Upper Canada Newspaper Notices
Upper Canada newspapers contain a wealth of information on the lives of early settlers. Many of the notices I have indexed here are being published for the first time. These records may also include the ONLY record of your ancestor in Upper Canada, once in a lifetime records of an individual who has been convicted of a crime and banished, or an ancestor who has left a single newspaper 'footprint' of their time in Upper Canada before heading across the border to the United States, or perhaps an ancestor whose only 'claim to fame' was finding a strayed cow or horse.
-
From the Archives Center of the National Museum of American History.
-
Now preserved in the Smithsonian, this house from Ipswich Massachusetts has sheltered over 200 years of history and five different families.
-
Women of the 6888th Central Postal Directory Battalion
The 6888th consisted of all African-American women who were assigned to Birmingham England, Rouen, France and Paris, France during World War II. Their mission was to clear several years of backlogged mail in the European Theater of Operations.
-
This site/software was originally a 23andMe triangulation tool that creates triangulation groups, makes research suggestions, and enables group discussions with cousins. (It was great!) Due to 23andMe pausing the tools required, they now focus on using your raw DNA data to find matches and triangulate matches.
