United States » Tennessee » General Resources

Access Genealogy - Tennessee Genealogy

American Local History Network - Tennessee

Ancestors: Resource Guide - Tennessee

Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.

Ancestry.com - Tennessee Genealogy & Tennessee Family History Resources

Ancestry.com Wiki - Tennessee Family History Research ^FREE

The Ancestry.com Wiki includes helpful content from two classic genealogical publications--The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy, and the Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources.

Appalachian American Genealogy

We focus on providing genealogical research information for the Southern Appalachian Region known as the "Tri-State Area"; but, include the Northwestern area of South Carolina because it was significant in ancestors' migration patterns into this area.

Family Roots and Branches

This site is devoted genealogical hints, tricks, tips and news for family historians in the GA/NC/TN Tri-State.

Family Tree Connection - Tennessee Resources

Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.

FamilySearch - Location Research - Tennessee ^FREE

FamilySearch brought together tools to help you with your research in this state: indexed historical records, image-only historical records, and links to the FHL catalog and the FamilySearch Wiki.

FamilySearch - Tennessee Research Page ^FREE

Resources all on one-page for research in this state including links to the FamilySearch Wiki, the Learning Center, the Family History Library Catalog, and the Historical Records Collection.

Findmypast - Search All Record Sets - Tennessee $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Fold3 - Tennessee Records $

Fold3 is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. The focus of Fold3 is to be a comprehensive collection of U.S. Military records. Some areas of Fold3 are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.

Genealogy Buff - Library - Tennessee Data

Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.

Genealogy Inc. - Tennessee Genealogy, Facts and Records Resources

Genealogy Jamboree - Cumberland Gap Tennessee

Each year on the second Saturday in June (and two days leading up to that Saturday) we hold a Genealogy Jamboree at historic Cumberland Gap, Tennessee. This Jamboree consists of living history demonstrations; such as civil war, frontier, and Native American re-enactors, craftsmen; such as basket and doll making, and trade work; such as soap making and a black smith. Lectures by nationally known speakers will be given on subjects such as how to research your family

Genealogy Quest - Free Genealogical Records for Tennessee

Genealogy Trails - Tennessee Genealogy Trails

Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.

GenealogyBank.com - Tennessee $

GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 13,000+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.

Internet Archive : Genealogy : Free Texts - Tennessee

The Archive's ever-expanding collection of genealogy resources includes items from the Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center in Fort Wayne, Indiana; Robarts Library at the University of Toronto; the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library; Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah; the National Library of Scotland; the Indianapolis City Library's Indianapolis City Directory and Yearbooks Collection; The Leo Baeck Institute Archives of German-speaking Jewry Leo Baeck Institute Archives; and the Boston Public Library. Resources include among many things books on surname origins, vital statistics, parish records, census records, passenger lists of vessels, and other historical and biographical documents.

LDS Genealogy - Tennessee Genealogy

14,000 Tennessee genealogy record sources including births, marriage, deaths, census, cemeteries, newspapers and obituaries, city directories, church, immigration, probate, land, military, and historical records.