Cyndi's List - United States - New York

Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - New York

The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- 'Mother Donit Fore the Best': Correspondence of a Nineteenth-Century Orphan Asylum
  
  A book by Judith A. Dulberger.
- Better Than Gold: An Immigrant Family's First Years in Brooklyn
  
  A book by Fannie Silver.
- Colonial New York: A History
  
  A book by Michael Kammen.
- Contributions for the Genealogies of the Descendants of the First Settlers of the Patent & City of Schenectady [N.Y.] from 1662 to 1800
  
  A book by Jonathan Pearson.
- Directory to Collections of New York Vital Records 1726-1989
  
  A book by Fred Q. Bowman.
- Ellis Island Gateway to America
  
  A book by Loretto D. Szucs.
- Erie Water West: A History of the Erie Canal, 1792-1854
  
  A book by Ronald E. Shaw.
- Gazetteer of the State of New York (1860), Reprinted with an Index of Names
  
  A book by J. H. French.
- Genealogical Resources in the New York Metropolitan Area
  
  A book by Estelle M. Guzik.
- Graveyard Shift: New York City Metropolitan Area Cemeteries
  
  A book by Carolee Inskeep.
- Heads of Families at the First Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1790: New York
  
  A book by the United States Bureau of the Census.
- How the Other Half Lives: Studies Among the Tenements of New York
  
  A book by Jacob A. Riis.
- Immigration and the Commissioners of Emigration of the State of New York
  
  A book by Friedrich Kapp.
- Jewish Immigrant Associations and American Identity in New York, 1880-1939
  
  A book by Daniel Soyer.
- Names, Names and More Names: Locating Your Dutch Ancestor in Colonial America
  
  A book by Arthur C. M. Kelly.
- New Netherlands Roots
  
  A book by Gwenn F. Epperson.
- New York Births & Baptisms: Southeast Region, 1660-1916
  
  A CD-ROM by Ancestry.
- New York City Court Records, 1760-1797
  
  A book by Kenneth Scott.
- New York City Court Records, 1797-1801 : Genealogical Data from the Court of General Sessions (Special Publication, No 56)
  
  A book by Kenneth Scott.
- New York City Methodist Marriages 1785-1893
  
  A book by William Scott Fisher.
- New York Genealogical Research
  
  A book by George K. Schweitzer.
- New York State Probate Records: A Genealogist's Guide to Testate and Intestate Records
  
  A book by Gordon Lewis Remington.
- New York State Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources
  
  A book by Gordon Lewis Remington.
- New York Supreme Court Naturalization Petition Index: 1907-1924
  
  A CD-ROM by Ancestry.
- Nineteenth Century Apprentices in New York City (Special Publications of the National Genealogical Society, No. 55)
  
  A book by Kenneth Scott.
- Permanent New Yorkers: A Biographical Guide to the Cemeteries of New York
  
  A book by Judi Culbertson.
- Petitions for Name Changes in New York City 1848-1899 (Special Publications of the National Genealogical Society, No. 53)
  
  A book by Kenneth Scott.
- Pioneer History of Orleans County, New York: Containing Some Account of the Civil Divisions of Western New York, With Brief Biographical Notices
  
  A book by Arad Thomas.
- Records of the Reformed Dutch Church in New Amsterdam and New York: Marriages from 11 December, 1639, to 26 August, 1801
  
  A book by Samuel S. Purple.
- The Artificial River: The Erie Canal and the Paradox of Progress, 1817-1862
  
  A book by Carol Sheriff.
- The Children's Aid Society of New York: an index to the federal, state, and local census records of its lodging houses, 1855-1925
  
  A book by Carolee R. Inskeep.
- The Colony That Rose from the Sea : Norwegian Maritime Migration and Community in Brooklyn, 1850-1910
  
  A book by David C. Mauk.
- The Historical Atlas of New York City : A Visual Celebration of Nearly 400 Years of New York City's History
  
  A book by Eric Homberger.
- The Island at the Center of the World: The Epic Story of Dutch Manhattan, the Forgotten Colony that Shaped America
  
  A book by Russell Shorto.
- The Luckiest Orphans: A History of the Hebrew Orphan Asylum of New York
  
  A book by Hyman Bogen.
- The New York Foundling Hospital: An Index to the Federal, State, and Local Census Records [1870-1925]
  
  A book by Carolee R. Inskeep.
- The Palatine Families of New York : A Study of the German Immigrants Who Arrived in Colonial New York in 1710
  
  A book by Henry Z. Jones.
- The Six Nations of New York: The 1892 United States Extra Census Bulletin
  
  A book by Robert W. Venables.
- The Street Book: An Encyclopedia of Manhattan's Street Names and Their Origins
  
  A book by Henry Moscow.
- The Union Preserved: A Guide to the Civil War Records in the New York State Archives
  
  A book by Harold Holzer.
- Western New York Land Transactions 1804-1824: Extracted from the Archives of the Holland Land Company
  
  A book by Karen E. Livsey.
- Western New York Land Transactions, 1825-1835: Extracted from the Archives of the Holland Land Company
  
  A book by Karen E. Livsey.
Bergen Historic Books, Inc.

Books that focus on northern New Jersey and southern New York history and genealogy, especially Bergen, Hudson, and Passaic Counties, New Jersey and New Netherland families; new and reprints of histories, cemetery and vital records, and surname genealogies.
Between the Lakes Group

Between the Lakes Group recovers and republishes local history and genealogy of the Eastern United States on CD-ROM and available for download. Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia.
Books We Own - New York

Books We Own is a list of resources owned/accessed by individuals who are willing to look up genealogical information and e-mail or snail mail it to others who request it. This is a free service - volunteers may ask for reimbursement of copies and postage if information is provided via snail-mail.
Club Men of New York

The first issue of Club Men of New York appeared in 1893. It is a listing of the membership of men's clubs and organizations in New York City and beyond. This is a copy of the 1893 version of the book found on Google Books.
DAR Store Online - Books, Brochures & Leaflets

Publications from the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, United States.
Devastation on the Delaware

A book for sale. The first comprehensive documentary of the 1955 flood on the Delaware River, caused by Hurricane Diane. Covers both sides of the river from Port Jervis, NY to Trenton, NJ. Affected areas of NY, NJ and PA. Includes in-depth treatment of the washing away of Camp Davis in Monroe County, PA, where almost 80 people were killed, including some entire families. 456 pp. narrative non-fiction, illustrated with 12 maps & diagrams, 105 historic photos. Fully indexed, appendices.
eBay Listings: Search for New York Genealogy

Online auction service for buying & selling.
First New York Dragoons

This book includes not only the regimental history of the First New York Dragoons, but the entire roster. Pictures, letters and other documents may also be found in the book.
Genealogical Resources in New York

A book by Estelle M. Guzik.
Genealogical.com - New York

The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Baptismal and Marriage Registers of the Old Dutch Church of Kingston, Ulster County, New York, 1660-1809
  
  A book by Roswell Randall Hoes.
- Calendar of Wills on File and Recorded in the Office of the Clerk of the Court of Appeals, of the County Clerk at Albany, and of the Secretary of State, 1626-1836
  
  A book by Berthold Fernow.
- Early New York Naturalizations
  
  A book by Kenneth Scott.
- Gazetteer of the State of New York (1860)
  
  A book by J. H. French.
- Genealogical Data from Colonial New York Newspapers
  
  A book by Kenneth Scott.
- Genealogies of Long Island Families
- Guide to Genealogical and Biographical Sources for New York City (Manhattan), 1783-1898
  
  A book by Rosalie Fellows Bailey.
- Heads of Families at the First Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1790: New York
  
  A book by the United States Bureau of the Census.
- Index to Marriages and Deaths in the New York Herald, Volume I: 1835-1855
  
  A book by James P. Maher.
- Index to the 1800 Census of New York
  
  A book by Barbra Kay Armstrong.
- New Netherland Roots
  
  A book by Gwenn F. Epperson.
- New York Marriages Previous to 1784
  
  A book by Genealogical.com.
- Slaves and Nonwhite Free Persons in the 1790 Federal Census of New York
  
  A book by Gilbert S. Bahn.
- The Children's Aid Society of New York
  
  A book by Carolee Inskeep.
- The New York Foundling Hospital
  
  A book by Carolee Inskeep.
- The Register of New Netherland, 1626-1674
  
  A book by Edmund B. O'Callaghan.
Heritage Books: New York
Higginson Book Company - New York

Publishers, printers and booksellers since 1969. Specializing in American local history, genealogy, Civil War books, and historic maps. Located in Bristol, Connecticut.
Kinship - Genealogy Resources for Kith and Kin

Publishers of New York State Research Material.
Legacy QuickGuide: New York Genealogy $

In a New York genealogy state of mind? Looking for those elusive Empire State ancestors? The New York Genealogy Legacy QuickGuide
New Netherland Settlers Books

This is a series of genealogy-history books on 17th century settlers in New Netherland (present day New York), researched and written by Lorine McGinnis Schulze
New York Family History Research Guide and Gazetteer

This one-of-a-kind textbook is the definitive resource for New York State genealogists and family history researchers. More than 100 experts have reviewed and contributed to this work, which includes authoritative guidance on every key topic about New York family history.
New York in the American Revolution: A Source Guide for Genealogists and Historians

PDF Download Only. New York in the American Revolution: A Source Guide for Genealogists and Historians provides detailed information on the availability of manuscript and archival material that exists for New York State for the period of the Revolutionary War along with listings of historical and genealogical studies that have been published and which supplement the original sources. It is the most extensive gathering of such information ever published, and researchers will find it an essential resource with which to identify materials and studies located in many scattered libraries and archives. The PDF comprises more than 700 pages including table of contents, text pages, map pages, and an index to the text. From the DAR Store Online.
New York State Censuses & Substitutes (Amazon.com)

By William Dollarhide
Settlers of the Beekman Patent - Dutchess County history | Dutchess County, New York

A historical and genealogical study of all the 18th century inhabitants of the patent. In all there were over 1,300 different surnames living in the Patent in the 18th century. 12 volumes to date in hardback and on CD. Chapters of the books are available as well.

Categories

Follow Us

Mailing List

Browse New Links

Submit a New Link

Report a Broken Link

Update a Link

Shop

United States » New York » Publications