United States » New York » Census

Access Genealogy - New York Census Records

Census links for online census research.

Ancestry.com - New York, Census of Inmates in Almshouses and Poorhouses, 1830-1920 $

Original source: New York. State Board of Charities. Census of Inmates in Almshouses and Poorhouses, 1835

Ancestry.com - Search Census and Voter Lists

US, UK, and Canadian census records. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com - Selected U.S. Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 $

This database contains U.S. federal non-population schedules from 1850-1880 for the following states: Alabama, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington Territory. Non-population schedules contained in this database include agriculture, industry/manufacturers, social statistics, and supplemental schedules. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Census Collection

Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription.

Ancestry.com - U.S., Selected Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 $

Original source: U.S. Census Non-population Schedules, including Agriculture Schedules, Industry/Manufacturers Schedules, Social Statistics and Supplemental Schedules for Alabama, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington Territory. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com Wiki - Census Records for New York

This entry was originally written by Roger D. Joslyn, CG, FUGA, FGBS, FASG for Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. This wiki is a free service of Ancestry.com.

Archives.com - Search For New York Census Records $

Use Archives.com with a FREE 7-day membership and search over 2.1 billion records. Pay-for-use after the seven day free trial.

Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - New York

Census Project (USGenWeb) - New York

This site lists where volunteers are needed for transcription. The state pages give both links where there are censuses that need to be transcribed and links to completed transcriptions.

FamilySearch - Free Family History and Genealogy Records

FamilySearch - New York, State Census, 1855 ^FREE

The population schedule for the 1855 New York state census records still in existence. Most counties are covered, but some records were destroyed. View the wiki or browse the collection to determine coverage.

FamilySearch - New York, State Census, 1865 ^FREE

his collection contains most of the 1865 New York state census records still in existence. Ten schedules were filed for each locality, including population, marriages, and deaths schedules. The population schedule included the name, age, birthplace, and occupation of each household member. Most counties are covered, but some records were destroyed. View the wiki or browse the collection to determine coverage.

FamilySearch - New York, State Census, 1875 ^FREE

Images of the 1875 New York State Census as of 1 June 1875. The following counties are not included: Chemung, Clinton, Hamilton, New York (Manhattan), Niagara, Putnam, Queens, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Suffolk, Wayne, and Westchester.

FamilySearch - New York, State Census, 1905 ^FREE

Images of the population schedule of the census of New York taken in 1905. This census is an every-name index to the state's inhabitants as of June 1, 1905.

FamilySearch - New York, State Census, 1915 ^FREE

Name index and images of the 1915 New York State Census. Index provided by Ancestry.com.

FamilySearch - New York, State Census, 1925 ^FREE

Name index and images of the 1925 New York State Census. Index provided by Ancestry.com.

FamilySearch - United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850 ^FREE

Name index and images of mortality schedules listing inhabitants of the United States who died between June 1849 and May 1850. This was the first time a mortality schedule was included with the general population census schedule. Searchable data and browse are available for the following: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Mortality schedules are not available at all for other states.

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1790 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1800 ^FREE