United States » Illinois » Census

1818 Illinois Territory Census Records - New Horizons Genealogy

1818 Illinois Territory Census Records, as found in the Collections of the State Historical Library, Volume XXIV, Statistical Series, Volume II.

Access Genealogy - Illinois Census Records

Census links for online census research.

Ancestry.com - Search Census and Voter Lists

US, UK, and Canadian census records. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Census Collection

Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription.

Ancestry.com - U.S., Selected Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 $

Original source: U.S. Census Non-population Schedules, including Agriculture Schedules, Industry/Manufacturers Schedules, Social Statistics and Supplemental Schedules for Alabama, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington Territory. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com Wiki - Census Records for Illinois

This entry was originally written by Carol L. Maki and Michael John Neill for Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. This wiki is a free service of Ancestry.com.

Archives.com - Search For Illinois Census Records $

Use Archives.com with a FREE 7-day membership and search over 2.1 billion records. Pay-for-use after the seven day free trial.

Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Illinois

Census Project (USGenWeb) - Illinois

This site lists where volunteers are needed for transcription. The state pages give both links where there are censuses that need to be transcribed and links to completed transcriptions.

FamilySearch - Illinois Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 ^FREE

Name index and images of mortality schedules from Illinois,1850-1880. Mortality Schedules were created in conjunction with the US Federal Census and list people who died in the year preceding the census. Mortality schedules were first included in the 1850 census. These include lists of people who died Jun 1849 - May 1850, Jun 1859 - May 1860, Jun 1869-May 1870, and Jun 1879 - May 1880.

FamilySearch - Illinois State Census, 1855 ^FREE

Index and images of the Illinois state census taken in 1855.

FamilySearch - Illinois State Census, 1865 ^FREE

Name index and images of the Illinois state census taken on 3 July 1865. The following counties are missing: Gallatin, Mason, Monroe and part of Tazewell.

FamilySearch - Illinois, Non-Population Census Schedules, 1850-1880 ^FREE

Images of census schedules including agriculture, manufactures, industry and social statistics.

FamilySearch - United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850 ^FREE

Name index and images of mortality schedules listing inhabitants of the United States who died between June 1849 and May 1850. This was the first time a mortality schedule was included with the general population census schedule. Searchable data and browse are available for the following: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Mortality schedules are not available at all for other states.

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1820 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1830 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1840 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1850 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1860 ^FREE

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1870 ^FREE