United States » Idaho » Libraries, Archives & Museums

Archives West

Provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases. Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Alaska, Montana, Utah.

Basque Museum and Cultural Center

Boise.

BYU-Idaho Special Collections

Rexburg, Idaho.

Digital State Archives - Idaho

Idaho's online state archives actually have some unusual materials worth a visit. The so-called 'non-population' census records in the 19th century detail activities and people in select industries, including mining and manufacturing. Many of the Chinese laborers working the mines are listed here.

Digital State Archives - Idaho

FamilySearch - FamilySearch Center Locator: Idaho

From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.

FamilySearch Catalog

From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Microfilm loans can be ordered and then sent to your local Family History Center.

Idaho State Archives | Idaho Historical Society

The Idaho State Historical Society serves as the state archives and holds a variety of public records created by state and local governments, such as state agencies, counties, and cities. The collection includes territorial records; papers from most governors; selected vital, financial, and court records; and a variety of other materials.

Idaho State Digital Archives

Idaho State Library

LibDex - The Library Index - Idaho

A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).

Library of Congress - Search results for Idaho

Mountain West Digital Library

The Mountain West Digital Library is a collaborative of libraries, museums, and archives -- universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies. Starting in 2001 as a program of the Utah Academic Library Consortium, MWDL has been joined over the last decade by partners in other states in the West as well, including Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Oregon, Wyoming, and Hawaii.

National Archives and Records Administration

Northwest Digital Archive

NWDA provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases. The Northwest Digital Archives (NWDA) provides enhanced access to archival and manuscript collections in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Alaska, and Washington.

Public Libraries in the United States - Idaho

A directory with detailed information for public libraries in each state.

PublicLibraries.com - Idaho

Special Collections and Archives at the University of Idaho Library

United Methodist Church - Annual Conference Commissions on Archives and History

List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.

WorldCat: The World's Largest Library Catalog

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for books, music CDs, videos, and many new kinds of digital content such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Special features include the ability for you to create lists of library items and build biblilographies.