United States » U.S. General » General Resources

American States Free Ancestry

Discover your family history and start your family tree. Try these free resources for all fifty states and access genealogy records including Census, Land and Cemetery records.

Ancestor Hunter's Genealogy Sources and Documents for the United States

Our purpose is to assist genealogical researchers by sharing documentation and sources that we have acquired over many years of research.

Ancestry.com - North America Genealogy & North America Family History Resources $

Ancestry.com Wiki - Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources

Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources is a reference book published by Ancestry Publishing. The first edition, called Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources was published in 1989 and was edited by Alice Eichholz, Ph.D., CG. A revised edition was published in 1992. The current edition, the third, was published in 2004 when the title was changed to simply Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. In 2010, Ancestry.com digitized the content of Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources along with The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy and made it available in wiki format as one of the foundational sources for the Ancestry.com Wiki. Each chapter has been broken into one or more series of articles. This wiki is a free service of Ancestry.com.

FamilySearch - Location Research - United States ^FREE

FamilySearch brought together tools to help you with your research in this country: indexed historical records, image-only historical records, and links to the FHL catalog and the FamilySearch Wiki.

FamilySearch - United States of America Research Page ^FREE

Resources all on one-page for research in this state including links to the FamilySearch Wiki, the Learning Center, the Family History Library Catalog, and the Historical Records Collection.

FamilySearch Wiki - United States

Strategies and records to learn about American ancestors including contents, uses and availability of major nationwide sources.

Fold3 - Historical Military Records $

Fold3 is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. The focus of Fold3 is to be a comprehensive collection of U.S. Military records. Some areas of Fold3 are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.

Genealogy Roots Blog: Online Genealogy Indexes and Records - USA

Here you can find a concise list of Joe Beine's directories of online genealogy indexes and records. Topics include vital records, census records, military records, ship passenger lists, naturalization records and more.

Genealogy Surname Research Links for the United States

GenealogyInTime Magazine - US Genealogy Records

A handy guide to the most recent genealogy records on the internet organized by country and region.

Library of Congress - Local History and Genealogy Research Guides

Compiled by reference specialists in the Library of Congress Local History and Genealogy Section, these guides identify key print and online resources for pursuing the history of families and communities.

MyHeritage - USA $

MyHeritage has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

On Granny's Trail | A resource for Western States genealogy

This is a place to share resources for Western States genealogy

Southeast USA Genealogy - Website, Mailing List (Archived on RootsWeb), & More

For individuals researching their genealogy in the Southeast USA, including a mailing list with a corresponding message board, related links, a CD Lookup request page, a free forwarding e-mail address, and a page where researchers can register their relevant surnames.

Southern Trails Main Links Page

Resources, references, links for those doing research on Southern ancestors - map sites, info on early roads, people, history, culture.

StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State

United History and Genealogy Network

History and genealogy covering the USA states and counties and specialty projects.

USA GENEALOGY : Weblinker.nl

Links & Informations.

USAncestry

Ancestry resources for all 50 states. Most of the resources listed are free.