United States » Washington, D.C. » General Resources

50states.com - District of Columbia Information Resource

A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.

American Local History Network - District of Columbia

Ancestors: Resource Guide- Washington, D.C.

From the PBS television series' companion web site. Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.

Ancestry.com - District of Columbia Genealogy & District of Columbia Family History Resources

Ancestry.com Wiki - District of Columbia Family History Research

This entry was originally written by Johni Cerny in Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. This wiki is a free service of Ancestry.com.

City of Washington D.C.

DCGenWeb - USGenWeb Project

District of Columbia DNA Project (FTDNA)

The District of Columbia Y-DNA Project is to understand genealogical relationships, social networks and the historical context of the DC area pre-Civil War.

Family Tree Connection - District of Columbia Resources

Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.

FamilySearch - District of Columbia Research Page ^FREE

Resources all on one-page for research in this state including links to the FamilySearch Wiki, the Learning Center, the Family History Library Catalog, and the Historical Records Collection.

Genealogy Trails History Group - Washington D.C. Genealogy Trails

Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.

GenealogyBank.com - District of Columbia $

GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 13,000+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.

Internet Archive : Genealogy : Free Texts - District of Columbia

The Archive's ever-expanding collection of genealogy resources includes items from the Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center in Fort Wayne, Indiana; Robarts Library at the University of Toronto; the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library; Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah; the National Library of Scotland; the Indianapolis City Library's Indianapolis City Directory and Yearbooks Collection; The Leo Baeck Institute Archives of German-speaking Jewry Leo Baeck Institute Archives; and the Boston Public Library. Resources include among many things books on surname origins, vital statistics, parish records, census records, passenger lists of vessels, and other historical and biographical documents.

LDS Genealogy - Washington DC Genealogy

Directory of 1,000 Washington D.C. genealogy record sources including births, marriage, deaths, census, cemeteries, newspapers and obituaries, city directories, church, immigration, probate, land, military, and historical records.

Library of Congress - Washington, D.C.: State Resource Guide

This guide provides access to digital materials related to the state at the Library of Congress, as well as links to external websites and a selected print bibliography.

Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > District of Columbia

MyHeritage - District of Columbia $

MyHeritage has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

NARA Calendar of Events

For the National Archives facilities in and around Washington, DC and nationwide.

Official City Web Sites for the District of Columbia

StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - District of Columbia