United Kingdom & Ireland » Scotland » Wills & Probate

Ancestry.com - Scotland, National Probate Index (Calendar of Confirmations and Inventories), 1876-1936 $

Original source: Commissary Clerk of Edinburgh under the Sheriff Courts Act, 1876. Calendar of Confirmations and Inventories. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Ancestry.com - Wills, Probates, Land, Tax & Criminal

Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Findmypast $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Join Findmypast and you

Gov.UK - Find a will

Three databases: search for the will or probate of any person in the UK who died in or after 1996; search for the will or probate of any person in the UK who died between 1858 and 1996; search for the will of a soldier who died while serving in the British armed forces between 1850 and 1986.

ScotlandsPeople - The official Scottish genealogy resource $

A fully searchable pay-per-view website which gives access to birth, marriage and death records (Statutory Registers, Old Parish Registers, and Catholic Registers); census records from 1841 to 1911, Valuation Rolls, and Scottish wills and testaments from 1513 to 1925. The initial surname search is free and covers all records, allowing you to check how many records of a particular surname appear in the various datasets, before you commit to payment and purchase credits toward viewing the digitized images of the records. This is the official government source of genealogical data for Scotland: a partnership between the National Records of Scotland (a merger of the General Register Office for Scotland and the National Archives of Scotland) and the Court of the Lord Lyon.

Scottish Family History from 16th-17th Century Wills