United Kingdom & Ireland » Scotland » Taxes & Valuation Rolls

National Records of Scotland - Research Guides - Customs and Excise Records

National Records of Scotland - Research Guides - Taxation Records

ScotlandsPeople - The official Scottish genealogy resource $

A fully searchable pay-per-view website which gives access to birth, marriage and death records (Statutory Registers, Old Parish Registers, and Catholic Registers); census records from 1841 to 1911, Valuation Rolls, and Scottish wills and testaments from 1513 to 1925. The initial surname search is free and covers all records, allowing you to check how many records of a particular surname appear in the various datasets, before you commit to payment and purchase credits toward viewing the digitized images of the records. This is the official government source of genealogical data for Scotland: a partnership between the National Records of Scotland (a merger of the General Register Office for Scotland and the National Archives of Scotland) and the Court of the Lord Lyon.

ScotlandsPlaces

ScotlandsPlaces is a free resource that lets you explore thousands of records about Scotland simply by searching for a place name, clicking on a map or typing in your postcode. Search results bring together three national collections so that you can easily find maps, photographs and written records about your chosen place. Records include: Maps, Surveys and Plans; Photographs; Archaeological Records; Drawings; Tax Rolls; Ordnance Survey Name Books; Publications.