United Kingdom & Ireland » Scotland » Census

Ancestry.com - UK Census Collection

Searchable index; census images available with fee-based subscription.

Census Online - Scotland

FamilySearch Catalog numbers for the Scottish Censuses of 1841 to 1891

FamilySearch Wiki - British Census Worksheet

FreeCEN: UK Census Online Project

Project to transcribe the 1841, 1851, 1861, 1871 and 1891 England, Scotland, & Wales censuses for free online search.

GENUKI: Scotland Census

Graham Maxwell Ancestry - Free Census Search

As well as providing free access to the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census for southern Scotland we have added map links. We have now added links for Roxburghshire. This brings the total number of individuals linked to maps to 219,112. We have now completed three counties: Peeblesshire, Selkirkshire and Roxburghshire. We have also mapped parts of Lanarkshire, Midlothian, Berwickshire and Dumfriesshire.

ScotlandsPeople - The official Scottish genealogy resource $

A fully searchable pay-per-view website which gives access to birth, marriage and death records (Statutory Registers, Old Parish Registers, and Catholic Registers); census records from 1841 to 1911, Valuation Rolls, and Scottish wills and testaments from 1513 to 1925. The initial surname search is free and covers all records, allowing you to check how many records of a particular surname appear in the various datasets, before you commit to payment and purchase credits toward viewing the digitized images of the records. This is the official government source of genealogical data for Scotland: a partnership between the National Records of Scotland (a merger of the General Register Office for Scotland and the National Archives of Scotland) and the Court of the Lord Lyon.

Scottish Indexes

Scottish Indexes have indexed Scottish birth, marriage and death records (including Quaker births 1647-1874 and Quaker marriages 1656-1875). These BMDs are usually records that are not available on scotlandspeople.gov.uk. Scottish Indexes are also indexing paternity cases found in the Scottish Sheriff Courts as well as indexing prison registers and historic mental health records. Record sets include: Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Lists; 1841, 1851 and 1861 Census; Mental Health Records; Scotland's Criminal Database; Court of Session Index; Scottish Paternity Index; Poor Relief Records Index; Non-OPR Births/Baptisms, Banns/Marriages and Deaths/Burials; Kelso Dispensary Patient Records; Deeds Index; and Register of Sasines.

Scottish Indexes - Learning Zone - Census in Scotland

The National Archives - Research Guides - Census records

UK Census Dates

UK Census Dates