United Kingdom & Ireland » Ireland & Northern Ireland » Census

1861 Census: Decline of the population in Ireland (Famine, Disease and Emigration)

A statistical summary of the numbers who emigrated from each county in Ireland during the years 1851-1860.

Ancestry.com - Search Census & Voter Lists Records

Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Census of Ireland (1821, 1831, and 1841 compared)

An examination of the social implications to be derived from a comparison of the 1821, 1831, and 1841 censuses for Ireland. From The Dublin University Magazine, Volume 23, Number 137, May, 1844.

Census Online - Ireland

Emerald Ancestors - Northern Ireland Genealogy & Ulster Ancestry

Irish Genealogy website with online access to over 1 million birth, marriage, death and census records for Northern Ireland.

FamilySearch - Ireland Census Search Forms, 1841 and 1851 ^FREE

Irish Census Search forms 1841 & 1851. The government used these forms to search the 1841 & 1851 Census to prove the age of people applying for the Old Age Pension when birth certificates did not exist because the person was born before Civil Registration had begun. The census search forms contain the applicant's name, address, residence in 1851 with county, barony, parish, townland and street as well as the parent's names and head of household in 1851.

FamilySearch - Ireland Census, 1821 ^FREE

Census returns from Ireland in 1821. The majority of the census returns were destroyed in 1922 but there are a few returns that remain for some of the counties in Ireland. The census is arranged by townland, civil parish, barony and county and contains: name, age, occupation, relationship to the head of household, and other fields.

FamilySearch - Ireland Census, 1831 ^FREE

Census returns from Ireland in 1831. The majority of the census returns were destroyed in 1922 but there are a few returns that remain for very few counties. The census is arranged by townland, civil parish, barony and county and contains: name, age, and locality information.

FamilySearch - Ireland Census, 1841 ^FREE

Census returns from Ireland in 1841. The majority of the census returns were destroyed in 1922 but there are a few returns that remain for a few counties. The census returns contains: name, age, occupation, relationship to the head of household, date of marriage, education/literacy, absent family members, family members who died since 1841 and other information.

FamilySearch - Ireland Census, 1851 ^FREE

Census returns from Ireland in 1851. The majority of the census returns were destroyed in 1922 but there are a few returns that remain for a few counties. The census returns contains: name, age, occupation, relationship to the head of household, date of marriage, education/literacy, absent family members, family members who died since 1841 and other information.

FamilySearch Wiki - British Census Worksheet

Findmypast $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Join Findmypast and you

Findmypast - 1901 England, Wales & Scotland Census $

Pay-for-use online searchable index with online images available.

Findmypast - Search - Census, Land & Substitutes $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Irish Ancestors - The Records

National Archives: Census of Ireland 1901/1911 and Census fragments and substitutes, 1821-51

The 1901 and 1911 census of all 32 counties in Ireland including digitized images of the original forms available free on the National Archives of Ireland website. Surviving census fragments and substitutes for 1821-51 are a valuable, if limited, resource for the pre-Famine period.

The National Archives - Research Guides - Census records

UK Census Dates

UK Census Dates