United Kingdom & Ireland » U.K. General » Occupations

A BOOK ABOUT PUB NAMES - the history of Britain as told through its pub signs

An e-book for sale by Elaine Saunders, telling the history of over 200 of Britain's pub names and including chapters on the development of pubs, working in pubs, old weights and measures, and the links between pubs and noble/royal families. Includes British Royal Family tree and brief biographies of kings and queens since 1066.

Ancestry.com - UK, Railway Employment Records, 1833-1956 $

Original source: Railway Employment Records. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Barmaids and Skinkers: Traditional trades and occupations in pubs

An article describing the many occupations found in pubs, coaching inns and the brewery trade over the centuries. The article is taken from a book available for sale.

British & Irish Clock and Watch Makers (c1600-c1940)

Online Archive Library, Trade Directory Lists.

British Southern Whale Fishery : Crew Lists - Whaling History

The British Southern Whale Fishery voyage database includes information about all known British southern whaling voyages from 1775 to 1859. The Crew database, which is primarily the work of Dale Chatwin, contains nearly 14,000 entries for men who served in the British Southern Whale Fishery between 1775 and 1859.

CLIP - Crew List Index Project

CLIP was set up to improve access to the records of British merchant seafarers of the late 19th century and has gathered the largest database of entries from crew lists for the period 1861 to 1913.

Deadpubs, Taverns and Tokens

Here is the deadpubs site. A site about history based on dead pubs and a whole lot more.

Family Tree Researcher: Dictionary of Old Occupations

By Jane Hewitt

Findmypast $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Join Findmypast and you

Five Thousand Ways to Earn a Living

A list of trades and professions taken from British census records and parish records.
[The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]

GPO War Heroes $

The Post Office, known as GPO prior to the 1960s, was once the largest employer in the UK. During both World Wars, the postal service was a vital part of the war effort with 70,000 employees fighting in each war. Both men and women of the GPO carried out the essential job of helping to keep communication lines open. Sadly, 12,830 postal employees are recorded to have lost their lives fighting. As part of the commemoration of postal workers who gave their lives, James Trezies, a postal worker himself, created a unique record and memorial to his fallen colleagues from the two world wars. Over the period of 3 years in the mid-1950s Trezies researched and hand-wrote the names of each of the fallen on individual sheets of cream wove paper, with each name appearing in alphabetical order.

History by the Yard

They specialise in the history of policing in London and undertake family history enquiries and provide career details of ancestors who served as police officers in London. The website also provides historical information about Scotland Yard and the Metropolitan Police, including famous cases. They maintain a record of Metropolitan Police officers who have received gallantry awards.

History of the Workhouse

Excellent site full of information on the UK workhouse system. Includes information on the Poor Laws, maps of the Poor Law Unions, scans of original records on diet, instruction, and rules, and more.

Index of Doctors in Scotland During The First World War

The Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh (RCPE) was the headquarters for the Scottish Medical Service Emergency Committee who controlled the enrollment of doctors in Scotland during the First World War. They sent out forms to all medical practitioners across Scotland between December 1915 and 1919 and this index contains information transcribed from these forms.

List of rail accidents in the United Kingdom (Wikipedia)

This lists significant accidents involving railway rolling stock, including crashes, fires and incidents of crew being overcome by locomotive emissions.

Lloyd

Lost Trawlermen of Hull

List of those who worked on the fishing trawlers of Hull, England and lost their lives.

Mariners - British Fishermen

Some general hints on tracing British fishermen. The website of the Mariners Mailing List.

My Ancestor was an Anglican Clergyman

Book for sale, by Peter Towey. 86 pages. ISBN 978-1-903462-90-4.

National Police Officers Roll of Honour

Honouring Police Officers who have been killed, or died as a result of injuries received, in consequence of the execution of their duty and Remembering Police Officers who have otherwise died, on or in connection with their duty, or whilst serving overseas. United Kingdom.