United Kingdom & Ireland » England » Newspapers

ABYZ News Links - United Kingdom - Newspapers and News Sources

British Library - News media

Two million pages of 19th century newspapers from 49 local and national titles. British and overseas newspapers dating back to the 1600s and growing collections of radio, television and web news.

British Library Newspaper Collections

British Newspaper Archive $

A Findmypast company. More than 650 titles and 14,000,000 pages online.

English and Welsh Newspapers on the Internet

List of links from the British Library Newspaper Library.

FamilySearch Wiki - England Newspapers

Findmypast - British Newspapers $

Gathered from one of the largest collections in the United Kingdom, our British newspapers include thousands of local and regional publications across the England, Wales, and Scotland. Each page has been completely digitized and fully indexed, offering you the ability to search every word within an article. Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Fold3 - London Times 1785-1820 $

It began as The Daily Universal Register in 1785, and became The Times on January 1, 1788, reporting on events of global importance in political, social, and commercial arenas. These daily editions (Monday-Saturday) cover news and public opinion of Georgian Britain, including historic events in the new United States, the Napoleonic Wars, and 19th-century trends in banking, democracy, and public life. Later issues offer an overseas perspective of the US Civil War, and domestic coverage of The Great War. Fold3 is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. The focus of Fold3 is to be a comprehensive collection of U.S. Military records. Some areas of Fold3 are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.

Gazette Gateway

Searchable online database for the London, Edinburgh, and Belfast Gazettes - the official newspapers of record in the United Kingdom.

Last Chance To Read

A pay-for-use searchable collection of thousands of pages of scarce British and Irish newspapers and other publications, most of which were printed between the years 1710 and 1870.

London National Papers on the Internet

List of links from the British Library Newspaper Library.

NCSE: Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition

Free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers. Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833); Northern Star (1838-1852); Leader (1850-1860); English Woman

Newspapers and other media sources from the United Kingdom

Links to media web sites.

Newspapers in Family History

Contributed by Richard Ratcliffe

Newsplan 2000 Project

Plan to preserve over 1,700 unique collections of local newspapers held in libraries, archives, universities and publishers' offices throughout the United Kingdom.

Old British News Search And Research 1800-1910

Free comprehensive search for old British news articles (1800

OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: England

Richard Heaton's Index to Digitalised British and Irish Newspapers Online Beta

Content of the Collections Included are: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; British Library 19th Century Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers Part II; Ancestry; British Newspaper Archive; Cambrian Indexing Project; Googlenewspapers; Highland History & Culture; Internet Library of Early Periodicals; Irish News Archive; Jewish Chronicle Archive; Lastchancetoread; London Gazette Archive; Manx National Heritage; Newspaper Archive; Slough History Online; Teesdale Mercury Archive; Times Digital Archive; Sunday Times Digital Archive; Financial Times Digital Archive; Guardian Digital Archive; Scotsman; UK Press Online; and Welsh Newspapers Online (Beta). And the content is split England (excluding London), London Borough's, Main London Collection, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, Channel Islands, and Isle of Man.

South West England Genealogical Indexes

Newspaper indexes, parish registers, Somerset Trade Directory 1874-5, inquests, and miscellaneous transcriptions.

The Jewish Chronicle