United Kingdom & Ireland » Channel Islands » General Resources

Al BEAGAN's Genealogy Notes of Jersey

Alderney Genealogy

Links to genealogy web sites for ALderny.

Ancestry.com - United Kingdom Genealogy & United Kingdom Family History Resources

Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Copyright for Family Historians (Wayback Machine)

Article by David Hawgood pertaining to copyright issues in the United Kingdom.

FamilySearch Wiki - Channel Islands Genealogy

First Steps in Family History

From the Federation of Family History Societies. This online brochure provides answers to a new researcher's first questions about family history.

Free UK Genealogy

Free UK Genealogy is a CIO (Charitable Incorporated Organisation) acting as an umbrella organisation for FreeBMD, FreeReg and FreeCEN. We work with volunteers to make transcriptions of the England and Wales Index of Births, Marriages and Deaths, historic Parish Registers and 19th Century Censuses. Each of the projects is a significant undertaking and in total, more than ten thousand volunteers have contributed over 350,000,000 records.

Genealogy of the UK

A directory of UK online resources, including archives, libraries, directories, surname lists, parish registers, cemeteries, war memorials, electoral rolls and censuses.

GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy

Guernsey Genealogy

Links to genealogy web sites for Guernsey.

Guernsey on the Map

Guernsey, Channel Islands, general resources and information. Sister site to the Priaulx Library website with links to family history events and the Priaulx Library online catalogue.

HMSO Guidance Notes - Copyright Guidance

For UK documents under Crown Copyright (including census & civil registration documents), the HMSO has revised its stance on enforcing their copyright. These guidelines can help genealogists understand what they may and may not do with UK Crown Copyrighted information without prior approval from the HMSO.

Jersey Genealogy

Links to genealogy web sites for Jersey.

jerseyfamilyhistory.co.uk (Wayback Machine)

Hemery family history and aspects of Jersey history. Photographers and photographic studios of Jersey, mainly from the Victorian era; bibliography of Jersey up to 1945.

Latin in Parish Records

Article by Alison U. Ring.

MyHeritage - Channel Islands $

MyHeritage has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Sark Genealogy

Links to genealogy web sites for Sark.

Société Jersiaise: Member Alex Glendinning

Surname Studies (formerly Modern British Surnames)

Surname Studies is devoted to the resources available for the study of the distribution, incidence and statistical analysis of the surnames of Britain, mainly post-1837, and primarily as a mass phenomenon.

TheGenealogist $

Dedicated to helping you find British your roots. The Genealogist is all about family history research and discovering your ancestors using a wide variety of data from 1100 through to the present day. Covering birth, marriage and death records, census records, parish records, nonconformist records, will records, military records and more.