Switzerland / Suisse / Schweiz » Language, Names, Handwriting & Script

Ann Sherwin, German-English Translation (Facebook)

Specializations: German genealogy, Fraktur and German script, legal documents.

Bing Translator

Enter a URL for a web page or copy & paste a block of plain text to translate: Arabic, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Haitian Creole, Hebrew, Hindi, Hmong Daw, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Klingon, Klingon (pIqaD), Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malay, Maltese, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese.

FamilySearch Wiki - French Letter Writing Guide

FamilySearch Wiki - French Wordlist

FamilySearch Wiki - German Word List

FamilySearch Wiki - Handwriting Guide: German Gothic

FamilySearch Wiki - Italian Genealogical Word List

This list contains Italian words with their English translations. The words included here are those that you are likely to find in genealogical sources.

FamilySearch Wiki - Switzerland Language and Languages

A list of commonly used words found in Swiss church records, family registers and church census records. This list includes words found in dialect spellings.

Form Letters for German Genealogy

GenWiki - Alte deutsche Handschriften / Old German Handwritten Scripts

GenWiki - TransServ

Volunteer translators can provide you with translations between Czech, English, Dutch, French, German, & Polish. This service is provided via e-mail. Exact request syntax and length rules must be followed in order to expedite processing.

German Illness Translations

German Study Group / German Words

German-English Genealogical Dictionary (Amazon)

A book by Ernest Thode.

German-English On-line Dictionary

Here you can learn Suetterlin - the German handwriting

Excellent online tutorial on the German script and handwriting including an alphabet and scanned examples of documents.

If I Can You Can Decipher Germanic Records

A book by Edna Bentz.

The Old German Handwriting

Walden Font

Several different fonts for sale, including: The Gutenberg Press German Fraktur Fonts and German Script.